Current Affairs PDF

FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23: Netherlands Men’s team won the title for 2nd time

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On 4th July 2023, The Netherlands men’s hockey team won the 4th edition of Fédération Internationale de Hockey(FIH) Hockey Pro League 2022-23 by defeating Belgium in the finals held in Antwerp, Belgium.

  • The Netherlands Men’s become the first team in the men’s competition to win the title twice. They won their 1st title in the 2021-2022 season.
  • With the win, the Netherlands also become the first nation to win both the men’s and women’s FIH Hockey Pro League titles in the same season (2022-2023).

The 2022-23 FIH Hockey Pro League(men’s) started on 28th October 2022 and ended on 4th July 2023.

Player of the match in the finals: Jip Janssen (The Netherlands)

Men’s FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23 Points table:

2Great Britain32

Indian hockey team at FIH Hockey Pro League:

i.The Indian men’s hockey team finished fourth position in the FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23 with 30 points from 16 matches.

ii.This was India’s second fourth-place finish in the FIH Hockey Pro League, having finished fourth in their inaugural season in 2020-21.

iii.The Indian hockey team secured third position in the 2021-22 season.


i.India’s Harmanpreet Singh was the top Goal Scorer (18 Goals) in FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23.

ii.The Indian hockey team (51 Goals) is also the top Goal scoring team in FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23.

Netherlands won the 4th edition of Women’s FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-2023:

On 27th June 2023, Netherlands Women’s Hockey team won the 4th edition of the FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23 title by defeating New Zealand in Wagener Hockey Stadium, Amstelveen, The Netherlands.

  • This marks Netherlands women’s 3rd title in FIH Hockey Pro League. So far, they have won 3 of the 4 women’s FIH Hockey Pro League titles.
  • Argentinian Women’s hockey team and Australian women’s hockey team won second and third place in the 2022-2023 season.

2022-23 FIH Hockey Pro League (Women’s) was held from 4th November 2022 to 5th July 2023.

Note: The Netherland’s Xen de Waard was awarded as Player of the Match in the finals.

Women’s FIH Pro League 2022-23 Points table:


About FIH Hockey Pro League:

i.FIH Hockey Pro League is an annual global Field Hockey League tournament involving best national teams (men’s and women’s) in the world.

  • The inaugural edition of both men’s and women’s FIH Hockey Pro League was held in 2019.

ii.The best team of the season, which has accumulated the highest number of points at the end of the League, is crowned Champion and receives the coveted FIH Hockey Pro League Trophy.

iii.From 2020-21 season, the FIH Hockey Pro League follows a round-robin format where each team plays the other team twice – home and away.

FIH Global Leadership Partner: Hero MotoCorp

Winners of previous edition FIH Hockey Pro League: 

EditionMen’s TeamWomen’s Team
2019AustraliaThe Netherlands
2020-21BelgiumThe Netherlands
2021-22The NetherlandsArgentina