Current Affairs PDF

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: Spain Defeated England to win their 1st Women’s World Cup

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

FIFA Women World CupSpain Women’s football team (nicknamed La Roja) won the Fédération Internationale de football Association(FIFA) Women’s World Cup 2023 by defeating England 1-0 in the finals at Stadium Australia in Sydney, Australia on 20th August 2023.

  • This marks Spain’s 1st title at the senior level and they won 1st Under-20 FIFA World Cup in 2022 and two U-17 FIFA World Cup in 2018 & 2022.

Medal Winners of 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup:


Bronze Medal Match:

Sweden won their 4th  bronze medal by defeating Australia 2-0 for the 3rd place match held in Brisbane, Australia.

  • Previously, they won the bronze medal by defeating Germany in 1991, France in 2011, and England in 2019, and they were also runners-up (silver) in 2003.


i.England’s Mary Earps was awarded the Golden Glove following her incredible campaign, including key saves in the final against Spain.

ii.Hinata Miyazawa (Japan) was awarded the Golden Boot award with a total of five goals.

  • The last time a Japanese player won the Golden Boot award was at the 2011 Women’s World Cup when Sawa Homare managed five goals.

iii.The 19-year-old  Salma Paralluelo picked up the Young Player of the Tournament award after her incredible debut campaign with Spain.

iv.Spain and Germany become the only two countries to win both men’s and women’s World Cup titles.

  •  Spain’s men won the title at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.
  •  Germany’s men are four-time World Cup champions, winning in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014. Germany’s women’s team won in 2003 and 2007.

FIFA Women’s World Cup awards:

  • adidas Golden Ball Award – Aitana Bonmati (Spain)
  • adidas Silver Ball Award – Jennifer Hermoso (Spain)
  • adidas Bronze Ball Award – Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden)
  • adidas Golden Boot Award – Hinata Miyazawa (Japan)
  • adidas Silver Boot Award – Kadidiatou Diani (France)
  • adidas Bronze Boot Award – Alexandra Popp (Germany)
  • adidas Golden Glove Award – Mary Earps (England)
  • FIFA Best Young Player Award – Salma Paralluelo (Spain)
  • FIFA Fair Play Award presented by McDonald’s – Japan
  • Visa Player of the Match (Finals) : Olga Carmona (Spain)

About FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023:

i.The 9th edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup was co-hosted for the first time by Australia and New Zealand  from 20th July to 20th August 2023.

  • 32 teams participated in this edition.

ii.Mascot: ‘Tazuni’, a fun football-loving penguin named as the mascot of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

  • The name Tazuni™ is a fusion of her home – the Tasman Sea – and ‘unity’, a key value of the event to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand in 2023.

iii.Spain becomes the fifth nation to win the Women’s World Cup after the United States of America(USA), Germany, Norway and Japan.

  • The first edition of the quadrennial tournament was held in 1991 in China.

iv.Prize Money:

  • Total Prize Money of the tournament – USD 110million
  • Winner – USD 4,290,000
  • Runners-up – USD 3,015,000
  • Third place – USD 2,610,000

List of FIFA Women’s World Cup Winners:

United States of America(USA)Norway1991
United States of America(USA)China1999
JapanUnited States of America(USA)2011
United States of America(USA)Japan2015
United States of America(USA)The Netherlands2019

About Fédération Internationale de Football Association(FIFA):
President – Gianni Vincenzo Infantino
Headquarters– Zürich, Switzerland
Established – 1904