Current Affairs PDF

FIFA U-17 World Cup to be held in India from 17 Feb 2021

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

FIFA U-17 World CupOn May 12, 2020, The All India Football Federation (AIFF) and the Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association) U-17 Women’s World Cup confirmed that the tournament will be held from February 17 till March 7, 2021.

Key Points:

i.FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup was scheduled to be held in India from November 2 to 21, 2020 across 5 venues (five host cities – Navi Mumbai, Guwahati, Ahmedabad, Kolkata and Bhubaneswar) and has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

ii.Eligibility: FIFA announced that the tournament will keep original eligibility criteria despite the postponement: players born on or after 1 January 2003 and on or before 31 December 2005 will be eligible to compete.

iii.The Local Organising Committee also added that the dates were confirmed after taking into account the time needed to complete the UEFA (Union of European Football Association), CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football), CAF (Confederation of African Football), OFC (Oceania Football Confederation), and CONMEBOL (South American Football Confederation) qualification tournaments as well as the best possible conditions in the country to host a successful FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

iv.The U-17 Women’s World Cup was originally scheduled to be played across 5 host cities – Navi Mumbai, Guwahati, Ahmedabad, Kolkata and Bhubaneswar.

v.The new dates for the FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup were also announced. It will now be held between 20 January and 6 February 2021 in Panama and Costa Rica.

vi.FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup: It is an international association football tournament for female players under the age of 17. It is organized by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

vii.The tournament is held in even-numbered years, starting in 2008. The current champion is Spain, which won its first title at the 2018 tournament in Uruguay.

About FIFA:
Headquarters– Zurich, Switzerland.
Motto– For the Game. For the World.
President– Gianni Infantino.