Current Affairs PDF

FICCI India selects Hockey player Rani rampal & shooter Saurabh chaudhary as ‘Sportsperson of the year 2019’

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On December 11, 2019, Indian women’s hockey team captain Rani Rampal (25) and Asian Games gold medalist shooter Saurabh Chaudhary (17) were honored with the ‘Sports Person of the Year 2019’ award at the FICCI (Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry) India Sports Awards-2019 held at FICCI Federation House in New Delhi.Rani-SaurabhKey Points:

i.Odisha’s Sports Minister Tusharkanti Behera and Sports Secretary Vishal Kumar Dev  presented the awards to the winners at the ceremony, which is  jointly organized by FIT India, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports & FICCI.

ii.The awards was decided by a jury led by Mukul Mudgal, Retired Indian Judge, Delhi High Court (HC), and Chief Justice (CJ) of Punjab and Haryana High Court.

Here’s the final list of winners:

S.No Award name Winner
1 Best Company Promoting Sports (Public Sector) Central Coalfields Limited Railway
Sports Promotion Board
2 Best Company Promoting Sports (Private Sector) Centre for Sports Science
3 Best NGO Promoting Sports Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society
4 Special Recognition NGO (Non-governmental organizations) Promoting Sports  My Angels Academy
5 Best Professional Services Company The Sports School
6 Best Sports Start-up FanCode Powered by Dream11
7 Best National Sports Federation National Rifle Association of India
8 Sportsperson of the Year (Female) Rani Rampal (Hockey)
9 Sportsperson of the Year (Male) Saurabh Chaudhary (Shooting)
10 Para-Athlete of the Year Sandeep Chaudhary (Javelin)
11 Special Recognition Para-Athlete of the Year Manasi Joshi (Badminton)
12 Breakthrough Sports Person Amit Panghal (Boxing)
13 Special Recognition Breakthrough Sports Person of the Year Esow Alben (cycling)
14 Coach or Support Staff of the Year Satyanarayana
15 Lifetime Achievement Award (Administrator) Govindaraj Kempareddy
16 Lifetime Achievement Award (Athlete) Pankaj Advani (cue sport)
17 Best State Promoting Sports Odisha
18 Best Sports Journalist Kamesh Srinivasan (The Hindu)
19 Special Recognition on the theme of Building New India Through Sports & Fitness Chitharesh Natesan– (1st Indian to win ‘Mr Universe 2019)

About FICCI:
– 1927
Headquarters– New Delhi
President– Sandeep somay