Current Affairs PDF

Eight States finalized Agriculture Export Policy by the Government of India

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On January 5, 2020, As per Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority (APEDA), eight states namely Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Nagaland, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Punjab, and Karnataka finalized an action plan for Agriculture Export Policy (AEP) to enhance exports.Key Points:

i.Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority (APEDA) ensures the involvement for states in AEP.

ii.A MoU was signed with the National Cooperative Development Corporation (NCDC) to include co-operatives for active role in AEP. Over 800 farmers producer organizations were signed the agreement.

iii.The product clusters selected are Jalandhar, Punjab (Potato), Sangli, Maharashtra (Grapes), Salem, Tamil Nadu (Poultry products), Theni, Tamil Nadu (Banana), Chittoor, Andhra Pradesh (Mango), Indore, Madhya Pradesh (Onion), Jodhpur, Rajasthan (Isabgol) and Chikkaballapur, Karnataka (Rose Onion).

iv.Under the guidance of APEDA, states are operating a market intelligence cell.

v.APEDA launched the Farmer connect portal on its website to interact with exporters.

About Agriculture Export Policy:

i.Agriculture Export Policy was approved by the Union Cabinet in 2018.

ii.It aims to increase the potential of Indian agriculture to make India a global power in agriculture.

iii.This policy also helps the government in achieving the target of doubling the farmer’s income from 30 billion USD to 60 billion USD by 2022.