Current Affairs PDF

EAM  Jaishankar attends G20 foreign ministers meeting 2019 held in Japanese city of Nagoya

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

External Affairs Minister(EAM) Subrahmanyam Jaishankar has attended the 2-day G20 (or Group of 20) foreign ministers meeting 2019 held in Japanese city of Nagoya from November 22-23, 2019. Jaishankar held talks with his counterpart ministers from several countries.Japan's Nagoya host G20 Foreign Ministers' MeetingKey Points:

i.The two-day event ,the last of the eight ministerial G20 meetings chaired by Japan this year (2019) , was attended by top diplomats from the Group of Twenty’s nations (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States & and the European Union).

ii.The meeting was held with the focus on the promotion of free trade, implementation of 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (Sustainable Development Goals) and how to best assist rapidly growing economies in Africa.

iii.All ministers agreed to reform the Geneva( Switzerland) Headquartered World Trade Organization (WTO).

iv. U.S.(United States) Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, however, did not participate in the G20 meeting.

Bilateral meeting:
EAM S Jaishankar met Japan’s National Security Adviser (NSA) Shigeru Kitamura and discussed foreign policy cooperation.
In addition, Jaishankar has also held talks with the Foreign Ministers of the Republic of Korea, the Netherlands, Singapore and China , Australia,&with Spanish counterpart Josep Borrell on the future of the country’s relations with the European Union.
Mr Jaishankar concluded his visit with a bilateral meeting with his Japanese counterpart Toshimitsu Motegi.

About G20:
– 26 September 1999
Purpose– Bring together systemically important industrialized and developing economies to discuss key issues in the global economy.
Membership– 20 members
Chairperson– Japan PM- Shinzō Abe (2019)

About Japan:
– Tokyo
Currency– Japanese yen