DST Constitutes Committee Chaired by Prof. Santanu Chaudhury for Conservation of Indian Heritage using Futuristic Tech

Centre constitutes committee chaired by Prof new

On December 23, 2020 The Department of Science and Technology(DST) under Frontier and Futuristic Technologies (FFT) Division constituted  an advisory committee to use futuristic and new age technologies for conservation of  Indian heritage conservation, documentation, and digital restoration.

  • The committee will be chaired by Santanu Chaudhury, Director, IIT Jodhpur Rajasthan.
  • With a focus on technical inputs to advance the heritage domain, Hardik Somani, Director and Chief Operating Officer of Sapio Analytics and lead of its Heritage Restoration Division is nominated as one of the members of the committee.

Other Members

i.The other members of the committee include Prof. PJ Narayanan, Director of International Institute of Information Technology(IIIT) Hyderabad, Dr. Rohini Srivathsa, National Technology Officer of Microsoft Corporation India.

ii.Along with them, Mamta Rao, Dean of National Institute of Design(NID), and Sachchidanand Joshi, Member Secretary, Indira Gandhi National Centre of Arts (IGNCA) among others.

Key Projects of Sapio Analytics:

i.The Sapio Analytics Heritage Restoration Division is working on a pilot project of Ajanta caves, where the company digitises, restore and preserve art and culture.

ii.In order to reach the ancient Indian heritage in its original glory to the people around the world, Sapio Analytics has also partnered with organizations across the globe

Additional Info:

i.Sapio Analytics is mainly working in the area of high impact projects using technological intervention.

ii.Their portfolio includes Technology Information Forecasting and Assessment Council(TIFAC), an autonomous organization under DST, Uttar Pradesh govt and Telangana govt among others.

Recent Related News:

On November 11, 2020 the Government of India set up a 22 member Inter-Ministerial Committee to strengthen the Capital Goods(CG) sector. The committee is headed by Shri Arun Goel, Secretary of Department of Heavy Industries(DHI), Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises.

About Department of Science and Technology(DST):

DST is under the Ministry of Science and Technology.
Secretary– Prof Ashutosh Sharma
Union Minister of Science & Technology– Harsh Vardhan(Constituency- Chandni Chowk, New Delhi)

About Sapio Analytics:
CEO– Ashwin Srivastava
Headquarters– Mumbai, Maharashtra

Exit mobile version