Current Affairs PDF

Dr Jitendra Singh inaugurates 11th Nuclear Energy Conclave for 2019 in New Delhi

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On October 18, 2019, The Union Minister of State for Development of North Eastern Region (I/C), Minister of State (MoS) Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh inaugurated the 11th Edition of Nuclear Energy Conclave 2019 in New Delhi. It was held under the theme “Economics of Nuclear Power- Innovation towards Safer & Cost Effective Technologies”. It was organized by India Energy Forum (IEF).11th Nuclear Energy Conclave for 2019
Key Points:
i. A nuclear plant is being set up in the Gorakhpur of Haryana.
ii. A “Hall of Nuclear Energy” was opened in Pragati Maidan in Delhi with a view to educate the students and the general public about the applications of nuclear energy,
iii. The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) is working towards the implementation of flagship programmes of the Government, with Tata Memorial Centre being the first to shift to cashless transactions.
iv. 3 technical sessions on the themes “Growth of Nuclear Power for Meeting Base Load Demands- Opportunities & Challenges for Manufacturing Industry” chaired by Shri AK Balasubrahmanian, Director (Tech.), Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL), “Use of Nuclear Energy in Healthcare and Municipal Waste Treatment” chaired by Shri G Nageswara Rao, Chairman, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) and “Emerging Technologies for Economy and Enhanced Safety viz, Small & Medium Size reactors, Passive Safety features, Molten Salt Reactors” chaired by Dr A K Bhaduri, Director, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR) were also held.
v. Other members present: Secretary, DAE and Chairman, AEC, Dr K N Vyas; Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission (AEC), Dr Anil Kakodkar; Member, AEC, Dr RB Grover; Chairman, Nuclear Energy Group, India Energy Forum and Chancellor Homi Bhabha National Institute, Dr. Srikumar Banerjee; President, India Energy Forum (IEF) and Former Secretary, Ministry of Power, Government of India Shri Anil Razdan; the Convenor, Nuclear, IEF and Former Executive Director, Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL) Shri SM Mahajan and others.