Current Affairs PDF

Defence Ministry signs contract with Tata Power SED for Phase-II of Modernisation of Air Field Infrastructure 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On May 8, 2020 The Defence Ministry has signed a contract worth around Rs 1,200 crore with Tata Power Strategic Engineering Division(TPSED) for Phase-II of Modernisation of AirField Infrastructure(MAFI) of 37 airfields for Indian Air Force(IAF), Indian Navy (IN) and Indian Coast Guard (ICG). The proposal is approved by Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.Defence Ministry signs contract with Tata Power SEDMajor Highlights

i.The project will give a boost to over 250 Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises(MSME) which will directly benefit from the execution of various activities of this project

ii.It is a turnkey project which includes- installation and commissioning of modern airfield equipment like Category(Cat)-II Instrument Landing System (ILS) and Cat II AirField Lightning System (AFLS) among others.

iii.Modern equipment around the airfield will be directly connected to Air Traffic Control (ATC), providing an excellent control of the airfield systems to the air traffic controllers.

iv.The upgradation of navigational aids and infrastructure will boost the operational capability by facilitating air operations of military and civil aircrafts even in poor visibility and adverse weather conditions as when enhancing aerospace safety

v.The MAFI Phase-II is a follow-on programme on MAFI Phase-I which includes upgradation of 30 airfields of IAF & benefits to both military and civil users.

Purpose of the contract
It will provide a motivation to the domestic industry in the prevailing situation & will aid to infuse much needed capital in the market and boosts employment generation in fields like- communications, avionics, information technology, besides civil and electrical equipment and construction.

About Defence Ministry:
Union Minister– Rajnath Singh(Constituency- Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh)
Minister of State– Shripad Yesso Naik(Constituency- North Goa)