Current Affairs PDF

Deepak Gupta has been appointed as the new Chairman of UPSC

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Deepak Gupta, a retired IAS Officer from Jharkhand Cadre has been appointed as the Chairman of Union Public Service Commission by the President Pranab Mukherjee in accordance with the Article 316 (1) of the Constitution.

He replaced Razni Razdan, whose term was completed on 23rd of November.

He become the first non-UPSC member to be appointed as UPSC chairman. Usually UPSC chairman is appointed from the serving members of the Commission.

Appointment of Chairman of Service Commissions 

The Chairman of UPSC is appointed by the President and the Chairman of State Commission is appointed by the Governor.

The term of office is six years or 65 years of age for UPSC and in case of State Commission it is six years or 62 years or age (Whichever is earlier).

For resignation UPSC Chairman should submit the letter to the President and the State Commission Chairman should submit the letter to the Governor.

A person who holds office as a member of a Public Service Commission shall, on the expiration of his term of office, be ineligible for re appointment to that office.

A member of a Public Service Commission may be removed from his office in the manner provided in clause ( 1 ) or clause ( 3 ) of Article 317.