Current Affairs PDF

David Cameron and Conservatives Back with Clear Majority in British Election

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Prime Minister David Cameron and his Conservatives won a resounding victory in the British general election, with nearly complete results showing that the party had secured an overall majority in Parliament.

  • The Conservative Party won with 331 seats, comfortably crossing the 326 mid-way mark in the 650-seat House of Commons.
  • The Labour Party :  A distant second,the Labour Party won 232 seats, a loss of 26 seats from 2010 election.
  • Labour Party Leader Ed Miliband has stepped down for taking full responsibility for the defeat of his party.
  • The Scottish National Party : SNP has swept Scotland — The SNP now have 56 MPs in Scotland, while the Conservatives, Labour and Liberal Democrats each have one.
  • The Liberal Democrats : Leader of the Liberal Democrats, Nick Clegg, who led his party to a poor finish, winning only eight seats, down from 57 in 2010, has stepped down.
  • United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP): The leader of the United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP) Nigel Farage also resigned following his defeat in Thanet South, a symbolic blow for the anti-immigration and Eurosceptic party that got just one seat.
  • The Democratic Unionist Party of Ireland won eight.

High Profile Defeats  :

  • Labour’s Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer -Ed Balls
  • Scotland’s Labour party head – Jim Murphy
  • The Labour party’s campaign head – Douglas Alexander
  • The senior Lib Dem leader and former Business Secretary – Vince Cable
  • Former Energy Secretary- Ed Davey
  • Uma Kumaran – Labour candidate of Tamil-Sri Lanka origin, lost to her Conservative rival in Harrow East

Seat Sharing :

  • Conservatives: 331 seats
  • Labour: 232 seats
  • Ukip: 1 seat
  • The Liberal Democrats: 8 seats
  • The SNP: 56 seats
  • The Green Party: 1 seat
  • Others : 2 Seats

Other Notable Winners :

  • Mihari Black –  Has become the youngest MP since 1667. She is 20 years old belonging to SNP.
  • Rishi Sunak won from Richmond (Yorks) -Mr. Sunak is the son-in-law of Infosys co-founder N.R. Narayana Murthy.
  • Priti Patel, who was designated Indian Diaspora spokesperson by British Prime Minister David Cameron in the last Parliament has retained her Witham seat
  • Tulip Siddiq, granddaughter of Bangladesh founding father Mujibur Rahman, and a niece of Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has won from London’s Hampstead and Kilburn constituency.

Ranil Jayawardena -Conservative candidate of Sri Lankan origin won North East Hampshire seat.

Oher Related Facts :

  • One out of Three elected this year’s election are Women
  • 191 women have won seats, the biggest rise since 1997.