Current Affairs PDF

Dak Karmayogi: E-Learning Platform launched by Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw; Meghdoot Awards 2021 Conferred

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Dak Karmayogi E-Learning Platform launched

On June 28, 2022, Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, Ministry of Communications (MOC), and Minister of State (MoS) Devusinh Chauhan launched ‘Dak Karmayogi’ during a function held at Stein Auditorium, Indian Habitat Centre in New Delhi (Delhi).

  • Developed under the Central Government’s vision of Mission Karmayogi, Dak Karmayogi is an e-learning portal of the Department of Posts.
  • This portal has been developed ‘In-House’ under the vision of ‘Mission Karmayogi’ which is to bring to bring efficiency in Government of India’s employees; and in bureaucracy with Minimum Government and Maximum Governance.

How will Dak Karmayogi Portal be helpful?

It will enhance the competencies of about 4 lakh Gramin Dak Sevaks (Rural Postal Service) & Departmental employees by enabling the trainees to avail the uniform standardized training content online or in blended campus mode through ‘Any-time, Any-where’ pattern.

  • This will enable them to effectively deliver a number of G2C (Government to Citizens) services, and and upgrade their Attitude, Skill and Knowledge (ASK).
  • They will also get completion certificate on successful completion of final summative assessment.


Department of Posts has been imparting training to its employees through its 10 Postal Training Centres/Regional Training Centre, and Rafi Ahmed Kidwai National Postal Academy (RAKNPA), a Central Training Institute in Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh (UP).

Meghdoot Awards 2021 conferred to recognize the Performance of Department of Posts Employees 

The Ministers also conferred Meghdoot Awards for 2021 to recognize the good performance of employees of Department of Posts and to motivate them to maintain or improve their good work.

About Meghdoot Award:

Introduced in 1984, it is the highest award of Department of Posts at National level for overall performance and excellence. It is conferred in eight categories. Awardees are presented with medallion, certificate and cash award of Rs 21,000.

Meghdoot Awards for 2021 were awarded to the following 8 Postal officials for their exceptional work:

i.Ashok Kumar Sahoo: He is Gramin Dak Sevaks Branch Postmaster (GDS BPM) in Cuttack South Division, Odisha Circle.

Reason for Award: He has been playing a key role in creating financial awareness among the public, and encouraging them to open accounts under Post Office Savings Bank (POSB) and India Post Payments Bank (IPPB).

ii.Prem Lal: He is Mail Runner in Mandi Division, Himachal Pradesh Circle

Reason for Award: The Udaipur Shalgran Mail Line of Lahual spans a distance of 32 kilometers in difficult terrain with an altitude of more than 9000 feet above mean sea level. It is snowbound for major part of the year. Even in risk and danger, he uninterruptedly completes his daily to and fro journey.

iii.Dhananjay T: He is Postal Assistant, Circle Office, Karnataka Circle

Reason for Award: His idea of modification of value of ‘Maximum Transmission Unit’ has helped in enhancing performance of Finacle at lower bandwidth. He has developed software tools for online premia payment of Postal Life Insurance (PLI), Incentive payments, monitoring Net Accretion of PLI premium, which made PLI operations user-friendly.

iv.Vijender Singh Rana: He is Technical Supervisor, Mail Motor Service, Delhi Circle.

Reason for Award: He made significant contribution in development of workshop tools for repair of CNG (Compressed Natural Gas) vehicles.

v.Sandeep Gundu Kadgaonkar: He is  Assistant Superintendent of Post offices (ASP) in Goa Region, Maharashtra Circle.

Reason for Award: He adopted cluster approach for monitoring which resulted in higher level of achievement of revenue targets and operational efficiency. He ran special campaign Suvarnkanya for 100% coverage of eligible girls under Sukanya Samriddhi Yojana.

vi.Randhir Kumar: He is Assistant Director, Circle Office, Bihar Circle.

Reason for Award: He has been instrumental in providing Micro-ATM facility at doorsteps of common people through ‘Aadhar Enabled Payment System’. He motivated the staff to implement technology projects, expand coverage of POSB and IPPB.

vii.Challa Sri Nagesh: He is Deputy Manager, Centre for Excellence in Postal Technology(CEPT), in Hyderabad (Telangana)

Reason for Award: He has developed D-Cube software which is used for disbursement of Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA) wages to beneficiaries.

viii.Smt. K. Kalaivani: She is Assistant Director, Southern Region, Madurai, Tamil Nadu Circle:

Reason for Award: She played lead role in the migration of POSB operations to Core Banking Solution and implementation of McCamish in Post Offices. She also developed rigorous monitoring mechanism to ensure disposal of grievances in time bound manner.

Recent Related News:

i.The Union Cabinet approves revised cost estimate on setting up of India Post Payments Bank (IPPB) with additional funding of Rs 820 crore for FY 2020-21 to 2022-23. This is an increase to Rs 2255 crore from Rs 1435 crore as equity infusion to meet regulatory requirements.

ii.MoS Devusinh Chauhan, MOC has released the Commemorative Postal Stamp on completion of one year of the world’s largest COVID-19 vaccination program, which was launched on 16th January 2021.

About Ministry of Communication (MOC):

Union Minister– Ashwini Vaishnaw(Rajya Sabha- Odisha)
Minister of State (MoS)– Devusinh Chauhan (Constituency- Kheda, Gujarat)