Current Affairs PDF

5 new districts to be formed in West Bengal

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Government of West Bengal has approved the proposal for introducing five new districts in the state. The total number of districts in West Bengal will increase to 25 after the formation of these five districts.
(West Bengal CM – Mamata Banerjee)

5 new districts to be formed in West BengalHere are the new five districts to be introduced in the state:

Basirhat district: Basirhat is currently a city and a municipality in North 24 Parganas district.

Kalimpong district: It would be carved out by bifurcating Darjeeling district in North Bengal.

Burdwan (Industrial) district: The district is to be formed by bifurcating existing Burdwan district.

Jhargram district: Currently a sub-divisional municipality in the Paschim Medinipur district in the Indian state of West Bengal, Jhargram will be carved out of West Midnapore district.

Sundarbans district: The Sundarbans along the Bay of Bengal has evolved over the millennia through natural deposition of upstream sediments accompanied by inter-tidal segregation. The new district shall consist of part of world’s largest mangrove forest.

  • As per the online reports, these five new districts will take six months to one year time to come into existence. The state administration needs to get formal permission from the court and create the basic infrastructure for these new districts.

At the time of its creation in 1947, West Bengal was divided into 14 districts – Bankura, Birbhum, Burdwan, Calcutta, Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Hooghly, Howrah, Malda, Midnapore, Murshidabad, Nadia, West Dinajpur and 24 Pargana.