Current Affairs PDF

Cricket: Overview of India Tour of England, India Wins the T20I and ODI Series in England Soil

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here


Rohit Sharma – led Indian Cricket Team Defeated Team England, led by Jos Buttler in both – Twenty 20 International (T20I) “2-1”and One Day International (ODI) “2-1” and won both the series of England tour at United Kingdom.

Twenty 20 International (T20I):

The 3-match T20I series took place from 7 July to 10 July 2022, in which Team India (Ind) defeated Team England (Eng) by 2-1 to win the series.

1st T20I: 

The 1st T20I took place at The Rose Bowl stadium, Southampton, United Kingdom (UK), where India defeated England by 50 runs.

i.Hardik Pandya became the first Indian player to scalp four wickets and score a half-century (51 runs) in a single T20I match.

ii.With this record, Hardik has joined the list of Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Shane Watson (Australia), and Mohammed Hafeez (Pakistan).

iii.Player of the Match was given to Hardik Pandya.

2nd T20I:

The 2nd T20I took place at Edgbaston, Birmingham, UK, where India defeated England by 49 runs and took the lead in the T20I series.

i.Player of the Match was given to Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

ii.Rohit Sharma becomes the first captain in the history of the cricket to win 14 consecutive T20Is, he registered this feat in 2nd T20I Vs Eng.

3rd T20I:

The 3rd T20I took place at Trent Bridge, Nottingham, UK. Eng defeated Ind in the final T20I match by 17 runs, but India won the series.

i.Player of the Match was given to Reece Topley (Eng)

ii.Player of the Series was given to Bhuvneshwar Kumar(India).

iii.Suryakumar Yadav (117 off 55 balls) scored his maiden T20I century for India despite a loss in the match.

iv.He became the fifth Indian to score a hundred in T20 Internationals.

v.First defeat for India in 20 matches under Rohit Sharma’s captainship across all formats.

vi.The last defeat came in a T20I against Bangladesh in Delhi in Nov 2019.

One Day International (ODI):

Team India defeated team England by 2-1 to win the 3-match ODI series took place from 12 July to 17 July 2022.


The 1st ODI took place at Kennington Oval, London, UK. Team India defeated England by 10 wickets.

i.Jasprit Bumrah was given the Player of the Match.

ii.England record their lowest-ever total (110 runs) against India in ODI cricket.

iii.England’s previous lowest ODI total against India was 125, registered on October 15, 2006 in Jaipur.

iv.Fast bowler Mohammad Shami created history by becoming the fastest Indian bowler to reach 150 ODI wickets. With his three wickets in the first ODI against England, Shami took his tally of wickets in ODI cricket to 151 in 80 matches. Ajit Agarkar was the previous fastest Indian bowler to reach 150 ODI wickets, taking 97 matches.

v.Indian captain Rohit Sharma broke former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi’s world record for being the fastest batter to reach 250 sixes in ODI cricket. Rohit took 224 innings to reach 250 sixes. Afridi had taken 259 innings to reach the milestone.

2nd ODI

The 2nd ODI took place at Lord’s “‘home of cricket’”, London, UK, where Eng defeated Ind by 100 runs.

vi.Reece Topley was given the Player of the Match.

3rd ODI

The 3rd ODI took place at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester, UK. In the series decider Ind defeated Eng by 5 wickets.

i.Player of the Match was given to Rishabh Pant.

ii.Player of the Series was given to Hardik Pandya.

iii.Rishabh Pant scored his maiden Hundred in ODI for India.

iv.Rohit Sharma becomes third Indian captain to win ODI series in England

v.Besides Rohit, MS Dhoni and Mohammed Azharuddin are the other two Indian captains to win an ODI series in England.

About International Cricket Council (ICC):

Interim Chief Executive Officer of the ICC – Geoff Allardice
ODI Team Ranking – Rank 1: New Zealand, Rank 2: England, Rank 3: India