Current Affairs PDF

Country’s longest Chenani-Nashri All-weather road tunnel inaugurated by Prime Minister

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi inaugurated the India’s longest Chenani-Nashri All-weather road tunnel on the Jammu-Srinagar National Highway on April 2, 2017. The tunnel is among the longest highway tunnels in Asia.

  • The tunnel was built at a cost of Rs 2519 crore at an altitude of 1,200 meters above sea level. The Chenani-Nashri tunnel is India’s 1st and the world’s 6th tunnel to have transverse ventilation system, providing fresh air to passengers.
  • Before Chenani-Nashri tunnel, Jawahar tunnel is the best-known road tunnel in the state built in 1950.

Benefits of Chenani-Nashri All-weather road tunnel

  • The journey between the Chenani-Nashri is reduced by 30 km. The previous distance is 41 km.PM to inaugurate country's longest Chenani-Nashri all-weather road tunnel built on Jammu-Srinagar Highway today
  • It also reduces travel time by two hours.
  • The Chenani-Nashri tunnel will ensure a safe and swift passage for commuters, even in adverse weather conditions.
  • The tunnel will save fuel worth nearly Rs. 99 crore a year and Rs. 27 lakh worth of fuel per day.
  • Light motor vehicles will have to pay Rs 55 for a one way trip and Rs 85 for a two-way journey.
  • The ventilation system is enabled by ASEA Brown Boveri (ABB) drives and controlled by ABB software.

About ASEA Brown Boveri (ABB)

ASEA Brown Boveri (ABB) is a Swedish-Swiss multinational corporation operating mainly in robotics, power and automation technology areas.

  • Founded in 1988, it is headquartered in Zürich, Switzerland.
  • Chairman: Peter Voser.

About transverse ventilation system

  • Transversal ventilation uses separate air ducts to introduce inside the tunnel set flow rates of fresh air and extracts the flue air from the tunnel.
  • Wide range of axial fans, sound attenuators and dampers are used in this method.

Jammu and Kashmir

  • Capital: Jammu in winter and Srinagar in summer with 22 districts.
  • Chief Minister: Mehbooba Mufti.
  • Governor: Narinder Nath Vohra.
  • Largest city: Srinagar.