Current Affairs PDF

Complete list of athletes recommended for Arjuna Award 2015

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The Sports Ministry appointed selection committee has recommended 17 names for the prestigious Arjuna award. Cricketer Rohit Sharma who hit a World record score of 264 runs against Sri Lanka in November and shooter Jitu Rai the winner of six medals last year are among the prominent names.

  • Dipa has been rewarded for becoming the first Indian woman gymnast to win a medal at the Commonwealth Games, while Wrestlers Babita and Bajrang, BoxerMandeep Jangra, Weightlifter Sathish Kumar and athlete MR Poovamma are all part of the awardees after successful campaigns in the Asian and Commonwealth Games
  • Indian hockey vice captain and goalkeeper PR Sreejesh has been recommended for his outstanding show as India’s goalkeeper. He was part of the team that won the Asian Games gold medal last year, which also fetched the side a direct qualification for next year’s Olympics.

Here is the complete list of athletes recommended for Arjuna Awards 2015:-

  1. Sandeep Kumar Archery
  2. MR PoovammaAthletics
  3. Mandeep Jangra Boxing
  4. Rohit Sharma Cricket
  5. Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
  6. PR Sreejesh Hockey
  7. K Srikanth Badminton
  8. Jitu Rai Shooting
  9. Sathish KumarWeightlifting
  10. BajrangWrestling
  11. BabitaWrestling
  12. Sanathoi DeviWushu
  13. Sharath Gayakwad Para-Swimming
  14. Manjeet Chillar Kabaddi
  15. Abhilasha Mhatre Kabaddi
  16. Anup Kumar YamaRoller Skating
  17. Swaran SinghRowin