Current Affairs PDF

China and Russia supports India for seat on UN Security Council

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

India secured greater support from China and Russia for its bid for a permanent membership on the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) and anti-terrorism plans at the ministerial-level Russia, India, China (RIC) summit in Beijing. 

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj,  Wang Yi of China, and Sergey Lavrov of Russia called for all countries to converge under the United Nations to combat terrorism which is a “threat” to international peace and security. The two big countries of Asia – Russia and China also agreed to support a larger role for India in Asia Pacific Economic Coperation (APEC) and the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).

India and China jointly launched the Visit India Year.

Knowledge is Wealth

  • The UNSC is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations and is responsible for maintaining international peace and security.
  • The Permanent Members of UNSC are Russia, China, USA, United Kingdom, and France. These permanent members have VETO power. They can veto any resolution passed by the United Nations. 
  • The Security Council also has 10 non-permanent members, elected on a regional basis to serve two-year terms.
  • Shanghai Cooperation Organisation – Established in 2001. Members are China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.