Current Affairs PDF

Chhattisgarh Govt Launched ‘Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Bhumihin Majdur Nyay Yojana’ for Landless Workers

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The government of Chhattisgarh launched the ‘Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Bhumihin Majdur Nyay Yojana’ to provide financial assistance of Rs 6000 (annually) for more than 12 lakh Landless workers of Chhattisgarh. 

This is a first of its kind scheme that focuses on delivering economic justice for the landless labourers.


  • The scheme was announced by Bhupesh Baghel, the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, on 28th July 2021.
  • The provision of Rs 200 crores for the scheme was included in the supplementary budget of the Financial year 2021-2022.


The scheme aims to provide a minimum wage to support the landless labourers of Chhattisgarh.

Features of the scheme:

i.The scheme covers the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act and contract workers.

ii.Assistance through this scheme will also be provided to the barbers, blacksmiths, dhobis (washermen and washerwomen) and priests across Chhattisgarh.

iii.The beneficiaries of the scheme are expected to receive their benefits before 31st March 2022, the end of the financial year.

iv.Beneficiaries of the ‘Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Bhumihin Majdur Nyay Yojana’ are required to register themselves on dedicated portal from September 1, 2021 to November 30, 2021.

Recent Related News:

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister(CM) Bhupesh Baghel virtually launched Chief Minister`s Tree Plantation Promotion Scheme which aims to protect the environment and increase income of farmers, panchayats and forest management committees.

This scheme has been linked with Rajiv Gandhi Kisan Nyay Yojana.


  • To encourage plantation on private land
  • To improve the environment in villages and increase ground water level.

About Chhattisgarh:

Governor– Anusuiya Uikey
Wildlife Sanctuary– Bhairamgarh Wildlife Sanctuary; Bhoramdeo Wildlife Sanctuary;
Sarangarh-Gomarda Wildlife Sanctuary
Tiger Reserve– Udanti Sitanadi Tiger Reserve; Indravati Tiger Reserves; Achanakmar Tiger Reserve