Current Affairs PDF

CERC gives approval to start India’s 3rd Power Exchange

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

India to get third power exchange owned by PTC, BSE by year endCentral Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) has approved the registration to start India’s 3rd Power Exchange. The Power Exchange will be established by Pranurja Solutions Ltd, a company promoted by BSE Investments, PTC Ltd & ICICI Bank.

  • The Power Exchange is expected to be operational by the end of 2021.
  • The other two power exchanges in India are Indian Energy Exchange (IEX) & Power Exchange of India Ltd (PXIL).
  • The commencement of operation of power exchange is subject to approval of laws, rules & technology in accordance with various provisions of the Power Market Regulations (PMR) 2010.

Key Points

  • PTC India & BSE Investments Lts own 22.62% each in Pranurja solutions, while ICICI Bank holds 9.04%. Rest is held by other investors like Jindal Power and others.
  • The registration of the power exchange will be in force for 25 years from the date of commencement of operation.
  • An Power exchange facilitates sale & purchase of power through several types of contracts – day-ahead, term-ahead, renewable energy certificates, and real-time electricity market.


  • IEX is the 1st & largest energy exchange in India, it has been operational since 2008.
  • PXIL was instituted in 2008. It is India’s first institutionally promoted power exchange.

Recent Related News:

i.On June 1, 2020, Indian Energy Exchange Limited (IEX), an electronic system based power trading exchange, has started a real-time (electricity) market (RTM) to meet the demand for electricity.

About Central Electricity Regulatory Commission  (CERC)

Chairperson – P.K.Pujari
Headquarters – New Delhi

About Indian Energy Exchange (IEX)

Executive Chairman cum Managing Director –  Satyanarayan Goel
Headquarters – New Delhi

About Power Exchange of India Ltd (PXIL)

MD & CEO – Prabhajit Kumar Sarkar
Headquarters – Mumbai, Maharashtra