Current Affairs PDF

Centre sanctions nearly Rs 4,100 crore disaster relief to 7 states

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The government of India had sanctioned a sum of nearly Rs 4,100 crore as a disaster relief fund to seven states.

  • These seven states are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Jharkhand, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu.

Disaster Relief Fund

Key Highlights

  • The High Level Committee (HLC) had approved Rs 4,087.27 crore as central support to the states affected by floods and drought.
  • From the National Disaster Relief Fund (NDRF) Andhra Pradesh will get Rs 280.19 crore, Assam with Rs 332.57 crore, Himachal Pradesh with Rs 170.19 crore, Nagaland with Rs 16.02 crore, Jharkhand with Rs 336.94 crore, Rajasthan with Rs 1177.59 crore and Tamil Nadu with Rs 1773.78 crore for the natural disasters.
  • These six states are more prone to drought and flood.
  • Jharkhand, Rajasthan and Andhra Pradesh come under harsh drought conditions due to 14 per cent deficit monsoon in these states.

About NDRF

  • The National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF) is an Indian police force constituted for the purpose of specialist response to a disaster.
  • The Chairman of the NDMA is the Prime Minister.
  • The aim of the National Disaster Management Authority is to build a safer and disaster flexible India by developing a holistic, practical, multi-disaster and technology driven strategy fordisaster management.
  • The responsibility for Disaster Management in India’s federal system is of the State Government.
  • The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) is the ‘nodal Ministry’ in the central government for management of natural disasters.
  • The headquarters of NDR is in R.K Puram New Delhi.
  • National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is a force of 12 battalions.