Current Affairs PDF

CEC Sushil Chandra Inaugurates 11th Annual Meeting of FEMBoSA for 2021

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India and the current chairman of FEMBoSA, Sushil Chandra inaugurated the 11th Annual meeting of the Forum of the Election Management Bodies of South Asia (FEMBoSA) for the year 2021. The virtual meeting was hosted by the Election Commission of Bhutan.

  • The theme of the meeting was the “Use of Technology in Elections”.
  • Representatives from the countries of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal and Srilanka participated in the meeting.
  • However, the Election Commission of India (ECI) & India International Institute of Democracy & Election Management (IIIDEM) will continue to hold capacity building courses for FEMBoSA members.
  • The 10th FEMBoSA meeting was held in New Delhi on 24th January,2020.

CEC of Bhutan, Dasho Sonam Topgay Assumes  Chairmanship of FEMBoSA 2021-22

During the meeting, the Outgoing Chairman of FEMBoSA, Sushil Chandra passed the Chairmanship to Dasho Sonam Topgay (New Chairman), Chief Election Commissioner of Bhutan for the year 2021-22.

  • The ambassador of Bhutan, Major General Vetsop Namgyel accepted FEMBoSA logo on behalf of the Election Commision of Bhutan (New Chair)
  • The new Chairman of the forum, H.E Dasho Sonam Topgay, CEC of Bhutan assured members that Bhutan would promote contact, cooperation among Election Management Bodies of the member countries towards conducting free and fair elections.

Thimphu Resolution: Adopted by FEMBoSA members

A Thimphu Resolution was unanimously adopted by the members of the FEMBoSA to extend the tenure of  chairmanship for two years due to the current COVID pandemic.

Forum of the Election Management Bodies of South Asia (FEMBoSA)

i.FEMBoSA was established at the 3rd Conference of Heads of Election Management Bodies (EMBs) of South Asian Association of Regional Cooperation (SAARC) held at New Delhi in May, 2012.

ii.The forum aims to increase mutual cooperation in respect to the common interests of SAARC’s Election Management Bodies.

iii.Members 8 –Election Management bodies of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Srilanka.

  • The annual FEMBoSA meeting is held by rotation among the members.

iv.New Chairperson -H.E Dasho Sonam Topgay

Recent Related News

i.On 08th June 2021, Former UP Chief Secretary Anup Chandra Pandey was Appointed as Election Commissioner. He is a retired IAS officer of 1984 batch, Uttar Pradesh Cadre.

ii.On 19th  June 2021,ECI Released ‘General Elections 2019 India – An Atlas’ – CEC Sushil Chandra along with Election Commissioners Rajiv Kumar and Anup Chandra Pandey released the “General Elections 2019 India – An Atlas”, which consists of data and statistical figures of 17th General Elections held in 2019.

About Election Commission of India(ECI)

Established under Article 324 of the Indian Constitution
Chief Election Commissioner – Sushil Chandra
Election Commissioners – Anup Chandra Pandey & Rajiv Kumar
Headquarters – New Delhi

Forum of the Election Management Bodies of South Asia (FEMBoSA)

New Chairperson (2021-22) –  Dasho Sonam Topgay  (Bhutan)
Members 8