Current Affairs PDF

BRICS Nations Signed Agreement for Remote Sensing Satellite Data Sharing

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The BRICS nations (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) have signed an agreement for the cooperation in remote sensing satellite data sharing.

  • The agreement was signed under India’s BRICS chairship.
  • The agreement was signed by the Heads of BRICS Space Agencies.

Heads of BRICS Space Agencies:

i.India – Dr K. Sivan, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

ii.Brazil- Carlos Augusto Teixeira De Moura, President, Brazilian Space Agency (AEB).

iii.Russia- Dr Dmitry Rogozin, Director General, State Space Corporation “Roscosmos”.

iv.China – Mr Zhang Kejian, Administrator, China National Space Administration (CNSA).

v.South Africa- Dr Valanathan Munsami, Chief Executive Officer, South African National Space Agency (SANSA).

Features of the Agreement:

i.The agreement will enable the BRICS space agencies to build a virtual constellation using their specified remote sensing satellites and their respective ground stations will receive the data.

ii.This will contribute to strengthen multilateral cooperation between the BRICS space agencies in meeting the challenges faced by humanity such as global climate change, major disasters and environmental protection.

Union Minister Piyush Goyal Chaired the 5th Meeting of BRICS Industry Ministers

i.Piyush Goyal, Union Minister of Commerce and Industry, chaired the “5th meeting of the BRICS Industry Ministers” held on 18th August 2021.

ii.The Meeting was held under the Chairship of India.

iii.The industry ministers of BRICS countries attended the meeting organised over a virtual platform.

iv.The meeting concluded with the BRICS Industry Ministers reaffirming their commitment to work together as a group, share best practices and learn from weaknesses, and move ahead in a positive and constructive manner to achieve the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

v.India emphasized to expand the horizon of New Development Bank (NDB) for strengthening social infrastructure & they had adopted the Joint Declaration during the meeting.

Recent Related News:

On July 15, 2021, the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) Labour & Employment Ministers’ (LEMM) Meeting was held under India’s Presidency which was chaired by Union Minister Bhupender Yadav, Ministry of Labour and Employment.

  • During the meeting, a discussion on four priority areas of cooperation was held viz. Promoting Social Security Agreements amongst BRICS Nations; Formalisation of Labour Markets; Participation of Women in the Labour Force; and Gig and Platform Workers: Role in the Labour Market.

About BRICS:

i.BRICS stands for Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa

ii.BRICS represents 41 per cent of the global population, 24% of the global GDP and 16%of the global trade.

2021 Chair – India
India’s Theme 2021– ‘BRICS @ 15: Intra-BRICS Cooperation for Continuity, Consolidation and Consensus’.