Current Affairs PDF

Brendon McCullum conferred with Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

New Zealand cricket team captain Brendon McCullum has been awarded with the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for 2014-15 for his remarkable performance both as a player and the captain during the 2014-15 season. Sir Richard Hadlee Medal is the highest cricketing honour of New Zealand and it was presented to him during the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) Awards presentation ceremony held in Auckland.

The 33-year-old hitter led New Zealand to their first ever World Cup final in 2015 Cricket World Cup. The aggressive batsman also had a astonishing year as Test batsman becoming the first New Zealander to aggregate 1000 runs in a year, which includes a triple-century against India at home and a double-century against Pakistan in UAE. The outstanding captain also led New Zealand to a flawless Test season as they remained unbeaten in all the Test series that they featured in.

Overall McCullum has scored 5451 runs in 89 Tests and 5808 runs in 248 ODI matches.

New Zealand Cricket Awards 2014-15 winners

  • Sir Richard Hadlee Medal – Brendon McCullum
  • International Women’s Player of the Year – Suzie Bates
  • Redpath Cup (batting) – Kane Williamson
  • Winsor Cup (bowling) – Trent Boult
  • ANZ Twenty20 International Player of the Year – Kane Williamson
  • ANZ ODI Player of the Year – Kane Williamson
  • ANZ Test Player of the Year – Kane Williamson
  • Domestic Cricketer of the Year (men) – Andrew Ellis
  • Domestic Cricketer of the Year (women) – Amy Satterthwaite
  • Best Sutcliffe Award – Ross Dykes