71st British Academy Film Awards ceremony, popularly referred to as BAFTA Awards 2018 was held on February 18, 2018 in London, United Kingdom.

  • The ceremony was hosted by English actress Joanna Lumley.
  • Drama film, ‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri’ got the most awards (in 5 categories), while ‘The Shape of Water’ was credited with most nominations (in 12 categories).
  • English Actor, Gary Oldman won the Leading Actor Award for playing British Prime Minister Winston Churchill in the film “Darkest Hour.”

71st British Academy Film Awards – List of Winners:

BAFTA Awards 2018 - Gary Oldman bags Leading Actor Award

Best FilmThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Outstanding British FilmThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Best Leading ActressFrances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Best Leading ActorGary Oldman – Darkest Hour
Best Supporting ActressAllison Janney – I, Tonya
Best Supporting ActorSam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Best DirectorThe Shape Of Water – Guillermo Del Toro
EE Rising Star AwardDaniel Kaluuya
Outstanding Debut by British Writer, Director or ProducerRungano Nyoni (Writer/Director), Emily Morgan (Producer) – I Am Not a Witch
Best Original ScreenplayMartin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Best Adapted ScreenplayJames Ivory – Call Me by Your Name
Best CinematographyBlade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins
Best DocumentaryI Am Not Your Negro – Raoul Peck
Best Original MusicThe Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat
Best SoundDunkirk – Alex Gibson, Richard King, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo, and Mark Weingarten
Best Production DesignThe Shape of Water – Paul Denham Austerberry, Jeff Melvin, and Shane Vieau
Best Special Visual EffectsBlade Runner 2049 – Richard R. Hoover, Paul Lambert, Gerd Nefzer, and John Nelson
Best Costume DesignPhantom Thread – Mark Bridges
Best Makeup and HairDarkest Hour – David Malinowski, Ivana Primorac, Lucy Sibbick, and Kazuhiro Tsuji
Best EditingBaby Driver – Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos
Best Film Not in the English LanguageThe Handmaiden – Park Chan-wook and Syd Lim
Best Animated FilmCoco – Lee Unkrich and Darla K. Anderson
Best Short AnimationPoles Apart – Paloma Baeza and Ser En Low
Best Short FilmCowboy Dave – Colin O’Toole and Jonas Mortensen
BAFTA FellowshipRidley Scott
BAFTA Outstanding British Contribution to CinemaNational Film and Television School

Quick Facts about BAFTA Award:

  • Awarded for – To honour the best national (United Kingdom) and foreign films of 2017
  • Presented by – British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA)
  • First Awarded in – 1949
  • Frequency – Annual


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here