Current Affairs PDF

AWBI confers ‘Pranit Mitra’ & ‘JeevDaya’ Awards – 2021 to 14 Individuals/Organizations/Corporates

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Prani Mitra awards and JeevDaya awards 2021On February 16, 2021, AWBI (Animal Welfare Board of India) conferred AWBI National Awards for Animal Welfare and Protection – 2021 namely ‘Prani Mitra’ & ‘Jeev Daya’ awards to 14 Individuals/Organizations/Corporates. The awards were presented by Giriraj Singh, Union Minister for Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying.

  • The awards are given to individuals, organizations and corporates for their outstanding performance in the field of animal welfare
  • Each year, AWBI National awards are conferred on Vasant Panchami. Vasant Panchami is celebrated as ‘Jiv Jantu Kalyan Divas’ by AWBI.
  • The awards are given under the following categories – Animal Welfare Organisation (AWO), Shaurya/Bravery, Individuals, Corporate


  • AWBI is an apex body in India for the welfare and protection of animals. It is established under Section 4 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960.
  • AWBI advises the Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying (Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying)

Co-Founder of Blue Cross of India gets Prani Mitra Award

Dr S Chinny Krishna, Co-founder of the Blue Cross of India was awarded Prani Mitra Award for Lifetime Service to Animals.

List of Awardees:

Name of the Awards  Awardee 
Prani Mitra Award – Individual
  • Yogender Kumar, New Delhi
  • Manish Saxena, Jaipur
  • Shayam Lal Choubisa, Udaipur
Prani Mitra Award – Shaurya
  • Anil Gandas, Gurugram
  • Late Smt. Kalpana Vasudevan, Coimbatore
Prani Mitra Award – LifeTime Animal Service
  • Dr. S.R. Sundram, Chennai
  • Dr. S. Chinny Krishna, Chennai
  • Maj. General (Retd) Dr. R.M. Kharb, AVSM, Gurugram
Prani Mitra Award – Animal Welfare Organization
  • World Sankirtan Tour Trust, Palwal
  • Shri Karuna Foundation Trust, Rajkot
  • People for Animal, Ahmedabad
Prani Mitra Award – Corporate Tata Trust Foundation, Mumbai.
Jeev Daya Award – Animal Welfare Organisation
  • Dhyan Foundation, New Delhi
  • Animal Aid Charitable Trust, Udaipur.

  • Atul Chatuvedi, Secretary, Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry & Dairying highlighted the Article 51 A (g) of the Indian Constitution which states that it is the moral responsibility of citizens of India to protect the natural environment & have compassion for all living creatures.

About Animal Welfare Board of India (AWBI):
Chairman – O P Chaudhary
Headquarters – Ballabhgarh, Haryana