Current Affairs PDF

Awards presented for writings on human rights

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

K G Balakrishnan, Justice of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC), presented awards to the winners of the National Human Rights Commission’s Mahatma Ganthi Biennial Hindi Writing Award Scheme for the year 2010 – 11 at a function in New Delhi on 20th April 2015.

He congratulated the winners and also said that this award is a part of the commission’s statutory duty of developing awareness on all aspects of human rights, and competitions like these will promote the original writings on Human Rights and cater to the aims of the National Human Rights Commission. The literary writings usually have a better impact on the minds of the people.

The National Human Rights Commission has also signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the National Book Trust, to translate the books that won, into 5 Indian Languages, which will further expand the reach of the awareness about Human Right issues. The first prize, Rs. 75,000 was won by Dakshin Bajrange Chhara of Ahmedabad for his play “Boodhan Bolta Hai” on the plight of nomadic tribes of the country and the second prize, Rs. 50,000 was won by Nishant Singh of New Delhi for his book “Baal Shoshan aur Apradh” which highlights various aspects relating to atrocities on children. The Commission is hopeful that these kind of awards will encourage the people to write more on the subjects of human rights so that India will be totally free from Human Right issues. Prof. Arun Kamal, Poet and Philosopher, appreciated the NHRC for their encouraging the writings in mother tongue.

Point to Remember:

  • Book Name : Boodhan Bolta Hai
  • Author: Dakshin Bajrange Chhara & won 1st price in writings on human rights schemes
  • Book Name: Baal Shoshan aur Apradh
  • Author: Nishant Singh & won 2nd prize in writing on human rights Schemes

Knowledge is Wealth 

  • National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) of India is formed in 12 oct 1993
  • Headquaters in New Delhi, india
  • Chairman: Justice K.G. Balakrishnan & Secretary General: Rajesh Kishore