Current Affairs PDF

Australian Open tournament 2017 Overview

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 105th edition of the Australian Open tournament 2017 was held at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia from January 16 to January 29, 2017.

  • The tournament was organised by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) and is part of the 2017 ATP World Tour and the 2017 WTA Tour calendars under the Grand Slam category.

List of Winners

Title Winners Runners
Men’s Singles Roger Federer Rafael Nadal
Women’s Singles Serena Williams Venus Williams
Men’s Doubles Henri Kontinen /John Peers Bob Bryan/Mike Bryan
Women’s Doubles BethanieMattek-Sands /Lucie          Safarova Andrea Hlaváčková/Peng Shuai
Mixed Doubles Abigail Spears /Juan Sebastián    Cabal Croatia’s Ivan Dodig/Sania Mirza

Other Categories

Boys’ Singles Zsombor Piros
Girls’ Singles Marta Kostyuk
Boys’ Doubles Hsu Yu-hsiou /  Zhao Lingxi
Girls’ Doubles Bianca Andreescu /  Carson Branstine
Wheelchair Men’s Singles Gustavo Fernández
Wheelchair Women’s Singles Yui Kamiji
Wheelchair Quad Singles Dylan Alcott
Wheelchair Men’s Doubles Joachim Gérard /  Gordon Reid
Wheelchair Women’s Doubles Jiske Griffioen /  Aniek van Koot
Wheelchair Quad Doubles Andrew Lapthorne /  David Wagner

Rodger Federer Beats Rafael Nadal to Win Men’s Single in Australian Open 2017

Roger Federer of Switzerland defeated long-time rival Rafael Nadal of Spain, 6-4, 3-6, 6-1, 3-6, 6-4, to win Australian Open 2017 at Melbourne on January 29, 2017.

  • This was his 18th grand slam title and his first major title in four-and-a-half years. This was also his first-ever victory over the Spaniard in Australia.
  • With the win, Federer becomes the first man to claim five titles at three different grand slam events and also the second-oldest man after Ken Rosewall to claim a major singles trophy.

Australian open
Serena Williams beats sister Venus to Claim Women’s Single Title

Serena Williams won 6-4 6-4 to surpass her elder Sibling Venus Williams in Women’s single title at the Australian Open 2017 in Melbourne on January 29, 2017.

  • This is Serena’s seventh Australian Open and an Open Era record of 23rd Grand Slam singles title.
  • The American player also outclassed Steffi Graf in the all time list of major winners since the Grand Slams accepted professional players in 1968. Now she only trails all-time leader Margaret Court by one major, who has 24 Grand Slam titles.

John Peers/Henri Kontinen Wins Australian Open Men’s Double

Australia based John Peers along with Henri Kontinen of Finland, defeated six-time champions Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan 7-5, 7-5 on January 28, 2017 at Melbourne Park, Australian Open Tournament to win Men’s double title. This is their first Grand Slam title together.

  • For Kontinen, it was his maiden major crown in his first final, while Peers lifted his first trophy in his third title match. He previously finished runner-up alongside Jamie Murray at Wimbledon 2015 and the US Open 2015.

Juan Sebastian Cabal and Abigail Spears Wins Australian Open Mixed Doubles

Colombia’s Juan Sebastian Cabal and Abigail Spears of the United States captured the Australian Open mixed doubles title on January 29, 2017 after they defeated Croatia’s Ivan Dodig and Sania Mirza of India 6-2, 6-4 in 64 minutes.

  • Cabal reached the 2011 French Open men’s doubles final (w/Robert Farah) and Spears got success for the first time having finished runner-up with Santiago Giraldo in the 2013 and 2014 US Open mixed doubles finals.

About Australian Open

The Australian Open is a major tennis tournament held annually over the last fortnight of January in Melbourne, Australia.

  • It was first held in 1905. The tournament is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis events of the year, the other three being the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.
  • It features men’s and women’s singles; men’s, women’s and mixed doubles and junior’s championships; as well as wheelchair, legends and exhibition events.
  • Prior to 1988 the tournament had been played on grass. Since 1988 two types of hardcourt surfaces have been used at Melbourne Park – green Rebound Ace to 2007 and blue Plexicushion from 2008.
  • The 2017 tournament were played on hard courts and over a series of 25 courts, including the three main show courts: Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and Margaret Court Arena.