Current Affairs PDF

Australia Wins its Maiden ICC T20 World Cup 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Australia beats New Zealand to win first T20 World Cup

On 14th November 2021, Australia defeated New Zealand in the finals of 2021 International Cricket Council (ICC) T20 World Cup tournament that was held at Dubai International Stadium, UAE, to win its maiden T20 world cup. This is the 7th Edition of the ICC T20 World Cup, which has been conducted since 2007.

i.Mitchell Marsh recorded the fastest fifty in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup final’s history, by reaching the 50-runs mark in just 31 balls.

ii.New Zealand failed to win the tournament despite posting 172 runs on board, the highest ever score in ICC T20 world cup finals.


  • Player of the Match – Mitchell Marsh (Australia) for his 77-run knock in the finals
  • Player of the Tournament – David Warner (Australia) for his match winning contribution throughout the tournament

Note – 2021 T20 World Cup was set to be hosted by India, but due to COVID-19, the venue was later shifted to United Arab Emirates (UAE) & Oman.ICC T20 World Cup 2021ICC Official Anthem for T20 World Cup – “Live the Game”

ICC released the official anthem for Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, called “Live the Game”, which was composed by renowned Indian Music Director ‘Amit Trivedi’.

  • The song featured an avatar animation, which also featured Indian Skipper Virat Kohli.

Virat Kohli Steps Down; Rohit Sharma to become India’s T20 Captain

After India’s poor outing in the ICC T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli relinquished his T20 captaincy for India. While, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to appoint Rohit Sharma as India’s Captain in the T20 format.

  • Previously, Virat Kohli also stepped down from the post of Captain of his Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).
  • He has decided to contribute to the team by increasing his batting performance.

Rahul Dravid appointed as Head Coach of India’s Senior Men Team 

Former Indian Captain, Rahul Dravid was appointed as the Head Coach of India’s Senior Men’s Team, after the Cricket Advisory Committee comprising Sulakshana Naik & RP Singh unanimously made the decision. Dravid previously headed the National Cricket Academy (NCA) and trained India’s U19 & India A teams.

  • He will succeed Ravi Shastri, whose tenure as head coach ended after the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup.

Rohit Sharma becomes 3rd Male Cricketer to score 3000 T20I runs

During the 2021 T20 World Cup, Indian Cricketer Rohit Sharma became the 3rd male cricketer to score 3000 international runs in T20 format. He reached this mark in 115 matches.

  • Virat Kohli was the 1st male cricketer to reach 3000 T20I runs in 87 matches
  • New Zealand’s Martin Guptill became the 2nd player to reach this mark

Note: Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul broke the 14-year-old record for the biggest partnership by India in T20 World Cup with their 140-run stand. Earlier, the record was held by Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag, who had put together a partnership of 136 runs for the first wicket against England in the 2007 T20 World Cup.

Curtis Campher becomes 3rd bowler to take 4 wickets in 4 balls in T20Is

In the first round of Group A of ICC T20 World Cup, Curtis Campher of Ireland picked up 4 wickets in 4 balls against Netherlands. He is the 3rd bowler to do so in the T20 International format.

Babar Azam set record for Fastest Batsman to score 2500 runs in T20Is

Pakistan Captain, Babar Azam created history to become the fastest batsman to score 2500 runs in T20Is. He achieved this in 62 innings, which is 6 matches earlier to Virat Kohli, who previously held the record by reaching the mark in 68 innings.

  • Babar Azam was also the highest run-scorer in the T20 World Cup 2021, with 303 runs.
  • Babar Azam also broke the 14-year old record set by Matthew Hayden (Australia) for scoring Most runs in the Debut T20 World Cup appearance.

Mohammad Rizwan records Most T20I runs in a Calendar Year

Pakistan’s wicket-keeper batsman, Mohammad Rizwan broke the 6-year old record of Chris Gayle (West Indies) to create the record of Most T20I runs in a Calendar year.

  • Rizwan with 1676 T20I runs in 2021, broke Chris Gayle’s previous record of 1665 runs in a year.

Afghan’s 1st Test Captain Asghar Afghan retires from All-forms of Cricket

Afghanistan’s 1st Test Captain Asghar Afghan retired from all forms of International Cricket after playing his final match against Namibia in the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup

  • He played 6 Tests, 114 ODIs and 74 T20 internationals for Afghanistan.

ICC partners UNICEF to Raise Awareness of Children’s Mental Health

The ICC has entered into a partnership with UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Fund) to enhance its awareness towards Mental Health & Wellbeing for Children. The partnership comes ahead of the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

  • ICC will partner & amplify the reach of UNICEF’s global campaign #OnYourMind

ICC T20 Men’s Ranking:

Player Batting Ranking:

Rank PlayerCountry 
1Babar AzamPakistan
2Dawid MalanEngland
5KL RahulIndia
8Virat KohliIndia

ICC T20 Team Ranking:

Rank Country 

About International Cricket Council (ICC):

Next ICC T20 World Cup is set to be held in 2022 hosted by Australia.
Chairman – Greg Barclay
Headquarters – Dubai, UAE