Current Affairs PDF

Argentina, Brazil, Uganda, Vanuatu – The Global Winners of ICC Development Awards for 2020

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Argentina, Brazil among winners of ICC development awards

On April 20, 2021, The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced Argentina, Brazil, Uganda and Vanuatu as the global winners of the ICC Development Awards for 2020 for their contribution to cricket through different exceptional programmes in 2020.


On April 6, 2021, while celebrating the International Day of Sport for Development and Peace ICC has announced 20 regional winners from 17 countries for the ICC Development Awards 2020 and stated that 4 winners will be selected from them and announced.

ICC Development Award 2020:

Award Category AwardeeAwardee’s Contribution to the game

ICC Development Initiative of the Year


Cricket Argentina

Attracted local audiences in South America to cricket by producing 17 coachings, umpiring and scoring courses in Spanish.

100% Cricket Female Cricket Initiative of the Year


Cricket Brazil

Developed women’s game in South America by awarding 14 professional central contracts to the women’s national team

ICC Digital Fan Engagement of the Year


Vanuatu Cricket Association

Provided cricket to fans during the pandemic when the Women’s T20 Grand Final was the only live sporting event available
Cricket 4 Good Social Impact Initiative of the Year 

Uganda Cricket Association

Supported their players, volunteers and their families through a COVID-19 relief programme

Panel Members: The panel members for selecting the awardees consists of 12 leaders including ICC Full Member Chief Executives, current and former international players, media representatives and other members of the cricket family.

Recent Related News:

On January 27, 2021, The International Cricket Council (ICC) introduced the ICC Player of the Month awards for both male and female cricketers across all forms of international cricket.

About The International Cricket Council (ICC):

Establishment – 15 June 1909
Headquarters – Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Chairman – Greg Barclay
CEO – Manu Sawhney