Current Affairs PDF

Anil Kumble re-elected as ICC Cricket Committee Chairman for three years

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Former Indian Bowler Anil Kumble re-elected as ICC Cricket Committee Chairman for a second term and Former Indian Batsman Rahul Dravil newly appointed as Member.

Tenure: Three Years.Anil kumble

About Kumble:

  • Highest wicket-taker for India
  • Appointed as the chairman for his first term in 2012

Newly Elected Members:

Rahul Dravid – Former Indian Captain

Replacing Former Sri Lanka Captain Kumar Sangakkara

Mahela Jayawardene – Former Sri Lanka Skipper

Replacing Former Australia Captain Mark Taylor

First Meeting: Lord’s on May 31 and June 1

To discuss about the ICC annual Conference takes place in Edinburgh, Scotland

Other Members in the committee:

  • Former Australia off-spinner Tim May elected as current player representative, replacing Laxman Sivaramakrishnan
  • Richard Kettleborough, three-time ICC Umpire of the Year, has been appointed as umpires’ representative and replaces Steve Davis

Responsibility of ICC Committee:

  • Representative of all stakeholders in the modern game, including players, umpires and the media
  • Make recommendations on cricket playing issues to the Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC)

The ICC Cricket Committee Members:

Sl NoPlayerPost
1Anil Kumble (former India captain)Chairman
2Shashank Manohar (ICC Chairman)Ex-Officio
3David Richardson (ICC Chief Executive)Ex-Officio
4Andrew Strauss (former England captain)Past Player Representative
5Mahela Jayawardene (former Sri Lanka captain)Past Player Representative
6Tim May (former Australia off-spinner and ex-CEO of FICA)Current Player Representative
7Rahul Dravid (former India captain)Current Player Representative
8Darren Lehmann (Australia coach)Full Member Team Coach Representative
9Kevin O’Brien (Ireland all-rounder)Associate Representative
10Clare Connor (former England women’s team captain)Women’s Cricket Representative
11David White (NZC chief executive)Full Member representative
12Ravi Shastri (former India captain and a respected commentator)


Media representative
13Richard Kettleborough (member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires)


Umpires’ representative
14Ranjan Madugalle (ICC chief match referee and former Sri Lanka captain)Referees’ representative
15John Stephenson (MCC’s Head of Cricket).MCC representative