Current Affairs PDF

Andhra Pradesh celebrates Rythu Dinotsavam (Farmer’s Day) on Birth Anniversary of YS Rajasekhara Reddy – July 8

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Andhra Pradesh govt celebrates July 8 as Rythu DinotsavamOn 8th July 2020, Andhra Pradesh celebrated Rythu Dinotsavam (Farmer’s Day) to mark the 71st birth anniversary of YS Rajasekhara Reddy, 14th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. The first Ruthu Dinotsavam(Farmer’s Day) was celebrated on 8th July 2019.


Y.S Jagan Mohan Reddy, the current Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh and the son of YS Rajasekhara Reddy, issued the Government Order(GO) to designate July 8th of every year as the Rythu Dinotsavam(Farmer’s Day) commemorating the birth anniversary of the late  YS Rajasekhara Reddy.

YS Rajasekhara Reddy:

i.He entered politics in 1978 and was elected 5 times to the state assembly and 4 times to the Lok Sabha.

ii.He served as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh from 2004 to 2009 and was again elected as the Chief minister in 2009.

iii.He introduced the 108 and 104 services in Andhra Pradesh.

iv.He died in a helicopter crash on 2nd September 2009.

Reason for Celebrating:

The former Chief Minister,YS Rajasekhara Reddy is known for various reforms that have made a long-lasting transformational impact on the agricultural and health sector of the state.He launched a campaign project under which free electricity was provided to the farmers in the state & he also launched Jalayagnam water management program: To bring 8.2 million acres of land under irrigation.

Events 2020:

i.CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy releases the book “Naalo…Naatho…YSR”(Within me..With me…YSR) about YS Rajasekhara Reddy life incidents till he took oath as CM, authored by YS Vijayalakshmi at  Idupulapaya in Kadapa district.

ii.The AP government has replaced the old ambulances and launched 412 new ambulances under 108 service and also introduced 656 mobile medical units.

iii.The government has given the directives to name the Farmer’s Reassurance centre as Dr. YSSAR Farmers Assurance Centers.

About Andhra Pradesh:
Chief Minister– YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
Governor– Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
Capital–  Amaravati