Current Affairs PDF Sales

Adoor Gopalakrishnan conferred with Bishwaratna Dr Bhupen Hazarika International Solidarity Award

Internationally acclaimed filmmaker Adoor Gopalakrishnan has been conferred with the second Bishwaratna Dr Bhupen Hazarika International Solidarity Award 2015, at a function held at Rabindra Bhawan, Guwahati. The Award was presented by Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi and Asam Sahitya Sabha chief Dr. Dhrubajyoti Bora. 


Knowledge is Wealth

  • The Award was instituted by the Assam Sahitya Sabha and sponsored by the Numaligarh Refinery Limited (NRL).
  • The Award carries a memento, a citation, a collection of books and a cheque of Rs 5 lakh.
  • The first international solidarity award was presented to eminent research scholar and dance exponent Lubna Marium of Bangladesh.
  • Adoor Gopalakrishnan has pioneered the film society movement in Kerala.
  • Gopalakrishnan had won several international film awards and Indian Government had conferred him the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 2004.
  • Adoor received the Padma Shri in 1984 and thePadma Vibhushan in 2006.