Current Affairs PDF

ACC Appointed 12 Executive Directors for various PSBs

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Govt clears appointments of 12 executive directors for various state-owned banksOn October 7, 2023, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, approved the appointment of  12 Chief General Managers (CGMs) and General Managers (GMs)  as Executive Directors (EDs) of various Public Sector Banks (PSBs).


i.In July 2023, the Financial Services Institutions Bureau (FSIB) had recommended 16 candidates for the position of EDs in PSBs.

ii.India currently has 12 PSB:  Bank of Baroda (BOB), Bank of India (BOI), Bank of Maharashtra (BOM), Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank(IOB), Punjab & Sind Bank, PNB, State Bank of India (SBI), UCO Bank, and Union Bank of India (UBI)

List of officials promoted from CGM or GM to ED:

S. No.AppointeePrevious PostED (New Post)Appointment Period
1Sanjay RudraGM of BOMUBI
2Vijaykumar Nivrutti  KambleGM of BOMUCO Bank3 years
3Bhavendra KumarCGM of Canara BankCanara Bank3 years
4Bibhu Prasad MahapatraCGM of Punjab National Bank (PNB)PNB
5Ravi MehraGM of Punjab & Sind BankPunjab & Sind Bank3 years
6Rajiv MishraCGM of UBIBOI3 years
7Brajesh Kumar SinghCGM of BOBIndian Bank3 years
8Shiv Bajrang SinghCGM BOIIndian Bank3 years
9Rohit RishiCGM of Indian BankBOM3 years
10Lal Singh CGM at Union BankBOB3 years
11Mahendra DohareCGM PNBCentral Bank of India3 years
12Dhanaraj TCGM Indian BankIOB3 years

Points to note:

i.Lal Singh, CGM of Union Bank of India (UBI) has been appointed as the ED of Bank of Baroda (BoB) for a period of 3 years with effect from the date of assumption of office.

  • It is noted that he shall be eligible for an extension of the term of office, after a review of his performance, till attaining the age of superannuation (i.e., 31.01.2027), or until further orders.

ii.Brajesh Kumar Singh, CGM of BoB has been appointed as the ED of Indian Bank a period of 3 years with effective form March 2024.

iii.Rohit Rishi, CGM of Indian Bank has been appointed as ED of Bank of Maharashtra (BOM) for a period of 3 years with effective form November 2023.

iv.Brajesh Kumar Singh, CGM of BoB and Shiv Bajrang Singh CGM of Bank of India were appointed as the Executive Directors of Indian Bank.

v.Sanjay Rudra, who previously served as the GM at Bank of Maharashtra (BoM), has been designated as the ED at Union Bank of India.

vi.Vijaykumar N Kamble, another GM from Bank of Maharashtra, will assume the role of ED at UCO Bank.

Recent Related News:

i.ACC approved the re-appointment of Tushar Mehta as Solicitor General of India (SGI) with effect from 1st July 2023 for a period of three years or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

ii.Government of India(GoI) extended the tenure of Brajendra Navnit as Ambassador

and Permanent Representative of India to the World Trade Organization (WTO) by 9 months beyond 28th June 2023 and upto 31st March 2024 or until further orders.