Current Affairs PDF

94th Academy Awards- Oscars 2022: Jane Campion, Will Smith & Jessica Chastain won the top awards; Dune won 6 awards

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here


The winners of the 94th Academy Awards(Oscars 2022) were announced at the ceremony held at the Dolby Theatre at Ovation Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, United States of America(USA) on 27th March 2022. 

  • The 94th Academy Awards honours and recognises the movies released in 2021. 
  • The nominees of the 94th Academy Awards were announced by Tracee Ellis Ross and Leslie Jordan in February 2022. 


Actor Regina Hall and  Emmy-winning comedians Amy Schumer and Wanda Sykes were the hosts of the 94th Academy Awards event. For the 1st time, 3 women hosted the event. 

The Academy Awards(Oscars) is annually presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). 

  • Oscar is an international recognition for excellence in cinematic achievements and it is assessed by the Academy’s voting membership.

Highlights of 2022 Oscars:

i.Dune directed by Denis Villeneuve leads the awards total with 6 wins. The film which was nominated under 10 categories, has bagged 6 awards for Cinematography; Film Editing; Music (Original Score); Production Design; Sound and Visual Effects. 

ii.“CODA”, directed by Sian Heder, became the 1st film produced by a streaming service, Apple TV+, to win Best Picture. CODA has won the Oscars 2022 under 3 categories: Best Picture; Actor In A Supporting Role and Writing (Adapted Screenplay). 

iii.Will Smith has won the Best Actor In A Leading Role for his performance in “King Richard” and Jessica Chastain has won the Best Actress In A Leading Role for her role in “The Eyes Of Tammy Faye”.

iv.Jane Campion has won the Best Director award at Oscars 2022 for her film, “Power of the Dog”. She is the 3rd Female director to win the Best Director Oscar following Chloe Zhao for “Nomadland” (2020) and Kathryn Bigelow for “The Hurt Locker” (2009). 

v.Troy Kotsur won the Oscars for Best Actor In A Supporting Role and become the 2nd deaf actor to win an academy award. Marlee Matlin was the first Deaf actor to win an Oscar in 1987 for Children of a Lesser God. 

vi.Ariana DeBose won the Best Supporting Actress award for West Side Story. She became the first openly queer woman of colour to win the acting Oscar. 

  • She is only the 2nd Latina actor to win an Oscar,  Rita Moreno, who also won the best supporting actress Oscar for the same role in 1962.

vii.Hans Zimmer won his 2nd career Oscar at the 94th Academy Awards, Original Score for Denis Villeneuve’s Dune

viii.Samuel Jackson, Elaine May, and Liv Ullmann will be honoured with the Honorary Academy Awards for 2022. The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award will be handed to Danny Glover.

Winners of 2022 Oscars:



Best PictureCODA

Philippe Rousselet, Fabrice Gianfermi And Patrick Wachsberger, Producers

Actor In A Leading RoleWill Smith for King Richard
Actor In A Supporting RoleTroy Kotsur for CODA
Actress In A Leading RoleJessica Chastain for The Eyes Of Tammy Faye
Actress In A Supporting RoleAriana Debose for West Side Story
Animated Feature FilmEncanto
CinematographyGreig Fraser for Dune
Costume DesignJenny Beavan for Cruella
DirectingJane Campion for The Power Of The Dog
Documentary (Feature)Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
Documentary (Short Subject)The Queen Of Basketball by Ben Proudfoot
Film EditingJoe Walker for Dune
International Feature FilmDrive My Car(Japan)
Makeup And HairstylingLinda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram And Justin Raleigh for The Eyes Of Tammy Faye
Music (Original Score)Hans Zimmer for Dune
Music (Original Song)No Time To Die From No Time To Die

Music And Lyric By Billie Eilish And Finneas O’connell

Production DesignDune

Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Zsuzsanna Sipos

Short Film (Animated)The Windshield Wiper

Alberto Mielgo And Leo Sanchez

Short Film (Live Action)The Long Goodbye

Aneil Karia And Riz Ahmed


Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill And Ron Bartlett

Visual EffectsDune

Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor And Gerd Nefzer

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)CODA

Screenplay By Siân Heder

Writing (Original Screenplay)Belfast

Written By Kenneth Branagh

About Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences(AMPAS):

President– David Rubin
CEO– Dawn Hudson
Founded in 1927
Headquarters– Beverly Hills, California, USA