Current Affairs PDF

8th ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 held in South Africa: Australia won its 6th title defeating South Africa

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

womens Worldcup2023The Australian women‘s national cricket team captained by Meg Lanning won the 8th edition of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women’s Twenty20 International (T20I) World Cup 2023 by defeating South Africa women’s team captained by Sune Luus by 19 runs in the finals held in the Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town, South Africa.

  • This marks the 6th and third consecutive ICC Women’s T20I World Cup title of Australia. Australia previously won the title in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018 and 2020.
  • ICC women’s T20I World Cup 2023 was hosted by South Africa from 10th to 26th February 2023.
  • The tournament was held at 3 venues in three cities of SA viz. Newlands Cricket Ground (Cape Town), St George’s Park (Gqeberha), and Boland Park (Paarl).

About ICC Women’s T20I World Cup:

i.The ICC Women’s T20I World Cup is the biennial international championship for women’s Twenty20 International cricket.

ii.The 1st edition of the ICC Women’s T20I World Cup was held in 2009 in England.

iii.2023 Women’s T20I World Cup marks the 8th edition of the tournament.

  • Bangladesh is set to host the 9th edition in 2024 and England is set to host the 2026 tournament.
  • The number of teams in the 2026 tournament will also increase to 12.

Points to be noted:

i.Ashleigh Gardener of Australia is named as Player of the series for her stunning all-round efforts during the ICC Women’s T20I World Cup 2023 and Beth Mooney of Australia was named the player of the match in the finals for her unbeaten 74 off 53 balls.

ii.With this Australian Skipper Meg Lanning become the only cricket captain to win five ICC titles, surpassing fellow Australian Ricky Ponting in the process.

  • She has won four T20I World Cup titles – in 2014, 2018, 2020 and 2023 – and the 2022 ODI (One Day International) World Cup while Ricky Ponting won the 2003 and 2007 ODI World Cup and the 2006 as well as the 2009 Champions Trophy crowns.

Table showing Key Highlights of Tournament:

Prize moneyUS$2,450,000
Player of the seriesAshleigh Gardner of Australia
Most runsLaura Wolvaardt (230) of SA
Most wicketsSophie Ecclestone (11) of England
Highest ScoreMuneeba Ali Siddiqui (102) of Pakistan

Recent Related News:

i.On 20th November 2022, World Champion Magnus Carlsen of Norway defeated Poland’s Jan-Krzysztof Duda in the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour (MCCT) finals 2022 held at the SHACK15 venue in San Francisco, United States of America(USA).

ii.Rudrankksh Patil (18 years old), an Indian shooter, has won the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) President’s Cup 2022 in Cairo, Egypt, by defeating Italy’s Danilo Sollazzo in the 10-metre (m) rifle play-off by 16-8.

About Australia:

Prime Minister– Anthony Albanese
Capital– Canberra
Currency– Australian Dollar