Current Affairs PDF

76th Cannes Film Festival: Justine Triet’s Anatomy of a Fall won the Palme d’Or

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Highlights of 76th Cannes Film Festival and Award WinnersThe 76th annual Cannes International Film Festival was held from May 16  to 27 2023 in Cannes, France. French film director Justine Triet’s French courtroom thriller ‘Anatomy of a Fall’ has won the top award of the 2023 – ‘Palme d’Or’ for best feature film.

  • Justine Triet is the third woman director to win Cannes’ top honour (the second in three years), following Julia Ducournau, who received the Palme d’Or award for Titane in 2021. Jane Campion was the first-ever female Palme d’Or winner in 1993 for ‘The Piano’.

Other winners:

i.The Grand Prix, the Cannes film festival’s runner-up award, was given to ‘The Zone of Interest’, a German-language historical drama film, Directed by English film director Jonathan Glazer. The movie was based on the novel of the same title written by Martin Amis.

ii.Japanese actor, Koji Yakusho won the best actor prize at the 2023 Cannes Festival, for his role in “Perfect Days” directed by Wim Wenders, a German filmmaker.

iii.Hungarian filmmaker Flóra Anna Buda’s animated short film “27” won the Palme D’Or for Best Short Film.

About The Cannes Film Festival:

i.Cannes film festival, official name Festival de Cannes, film festival held annually in Cannes, France.

  • The 1st annual Cannes Film Festival was held in 1946.

ii.It is now the world’s most prestigious film gathering, as well as its most widely publicised cultural event. It previews new films of all genres, including documentaries, from all around the world.

Awards & Categories:

The Cannes Film Festival awards are given under different categories of Feature Films, Short Films, Un Certain Regard, La Cinef, Caméra D’or, The Higher Technical Commission For Sound And Images, and L’œil D’or – Year Of The Documentary.

About Palme D’or: The Palme d’Or is the highest prize awarded at the Cannes Film Festival. It was introduced in 1955 by the festival’s organizing committee. it is awarded to the director of the Best Feature Film of the Official Competition.

Feature Films 2023 winners’ list:

Award CategoryWinner
Palme D’orAnatomie D’une Chute (Anatomy Of A Fall) Directed By Justine Triet
Grand PrixThe Zone Of Interest Directed By Jonathan Glazer
Best DirectorTran Anh Hùng For La Passion De Dodin Bouffant (The Pot-Au-Feu)
Best Performance By An ActressMerve Dizdar For Kuru Otlar Ustune (About Dry Grasses) Directed By Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Best Performance By An ActorKoji Yakusho For Perfect Days Directed By Wim Wenders
Best ScreenplaySakamoto Yuji For Kaibutsu (Monster) Directed By Kore-Eda Hirokazu
Jury PrizeKuolleet Lehdet (Fallen Leaves) Directed By Aki Kaurismäki

Click here to know the full list of winners

Recent Related News:

On 27th April 2023, the 68th edition of the Hyundai Filmfare Awards (Filmfare Awards 2023) took place at the Jio World Conventional Centre in Mumbai, Maharashtra. The Filmfare Awards 2023 were presented in collaboration with the Maharashtra Tourism, Government of Maharashtra.