Current Affairs PDF

64th National Awards – Complete list of winners

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

64th National Film Awards honouring best films and film related performances for the year 2016 were announced on 7th April 2017.64th National Awards - Complete list of winners

  • Over 300 films were in the race for honours this year. The National Film Awards would be presented by Honourable President of India at a ceremony which is scheduled to be held on 3rd May 2017.
  • From this edition, a new category ‘The Most Film Friendly State Award’ has been included. This inaugural award will be presented to State of Uttar Pradesh. State of Jharkhand also got ‘Special Mention’ for State Govt.’s overall efforts in fostering the growth of film industry.

Chairpersons of the Juries:

Category Chairperson of the Jury
Feature Films Shri Priyadarshan
Non Feature Films Shri Raju Mishra
Best Writing on Cinema Ms. Bhawana Somaaya

64th National Film Awards: Winners List

Category Film Awardee/s
Best FEATURE FILM Kasaav (Marathi) Director: Sumitra Bhave & Sunil Sukthankar
Producer: Sumittra Bhave, Sunil Sukthankar & Mohan Aghase
BEST POPULAR FILM PROVIDING WHOLESOME ENTERTAINMENT Sathamanam Bhavathi (Telugu) Director: Satish Vagesna Producer: V.Venkata Ramana Reddy
BEST FILM ON SOCIAL ISSUES Pink (Hindi) Director: Anniruddha Roy Chowdhury
Producer: Rashmi Sharma Films
BEST FILM ON ENVIRONMENT CONSERVATION/ PRESERVATION Loktak Lairembee (Manipuri) Director & Producer: Haoban Paban Kumar
BEST CHILDREN’S FILM Dhanak (Hindi) Director: Nagesh Kukunoor Producer: Drishyam Film
BEST ANIMATION FILM Mahayodha Rama (Hindi) Director: Rohit Vaid
Producer: Contiloe Pictures Pvt. Ltd.
Animator: Deepak S.V
NARGIS DUTT AWARD FOR BEST FEATURE FILM ON NATIONAL INTEGRATION Dikchow Banat Palaax (Assamese) Director: Sanjib Sabha Pandit Producer: Canvascope
BEST ACTOR Rustom (Hindi) Akshay Kumar
BEST ACTRESS Minnaminungu – the Firefly (Malayalam) Surabhi C.M
BEST CHILD ARTIST a). Kunju Daivam (Malayalam) b) Sahaj Pather Gappo (Bengali) c) Railway Children (Kannada) a) Adish Praveen
b) Nur Islam and Samiul Alam
c) Manohara. K
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR Dashakriya (Marathi) Manoj Joshi
BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS Dangal (Hindi) Zaira Wasim
BEST MALE PLAYBACK SINGER Film: Praktan (Bengali) Song : Tumi Jaake Bhalo Basho Iman Chakraborty
BEST FEMALE PLAYBACK SINGER Film: Joker (Tamil) Song : Jasmine E Sundharayyar
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY 24 (Tamil) S. Thirunavukarasu
BEST Screenplay Writer (Original) Maheshinte Prathikooram (Malayalam) Syam Pushkaran
BEST Screenplay Writer (Adapted) Dashakriya (Marathi) Sanjay Krishnaji Patil
BEST Dialogues Peli Chuplu (Telugu) Tarun Bhascker
BEST EDITING Ventilator (Marathi) Rameshwar
BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN 24 (Tamil) Subrata Chakraborthy, Shreyas Khedekar & Amit Ray
BEST COSTUME DESIGNER Cycle (Marathi) Sachin Lovalekar
BEST MAKE-UP ARTIST Allama (Kannada) NK Ramakrishna
BEST SPECIAL EFFECT Shivaay (Hindi) Naveen Paul
BEST CHOREOGRAPHY Janatha Garrage (Telugu) Raju Sundaram
BEST MUSIC DIRECTION – Song & Background Score Allama (Kannada) Bapu Padmanabha
SPECIAL JURY AWARD Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol, Janatha Garrage and Pullimurugan, Mohan Lal
SPECIAL MENTION Neerja (Hindi) Sonam Kapoor
SPECIAL MENTION Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) & Maj Rati Keteki (Assamese) Adil Hussain
SPECIAL MENTION Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) Producer: Red Carper Moving Pictures And Director: Shubhashish Bhutiani
SPECIAL MENTION Kadvi Hawa (Hindi) Producer: Eleeanora Images Private Ltd. And Director: Nila Madhab Panda
BEST ENVIRONMENT FILM INCLUDING AGRICULTURE The Tiger Who Crossed The Line Producer & Director: Krishnendu Bose Director
BEST SHORT FICTION FILM Aaba Producer: Raj Kumar Gupta Director: Amar Kaushik
BEST NON FEATURE FILM Fireflies In The Abyss Producer & Director: Chandrashekhar Reddy

Best Movies in languages that are specified in the Schedule VIII of Indian Constitution)

Joker  Tamil
Wrong Side Raju  Gujarati
Peli Chuplu  Telugu
Dashakriya  Marathi
Maheshinte Prathikaaram  Malayalam
K Sera Sera Ghodpachen Ghoddtelem  Konkani
Reservation  Kannada
Bisorjon  Bengali
Maj Rati Keteki  Assamese
Neerja  Hindi

Dhananjayan has been adjudged as the best Film Critic.

‘Lata : Sur Gatha’ authored by Yatindra Mishrahas been adjudged as the Best Book on Cinema, whereas book titled ‘A Fly in the Curry’ authored by K.P. Jayashankar – Anjali Monteiro has got ‘Special Mention’.

About National Film Awards:

The National Film Awards are most prestigious film awards in India.

  • First Awarded on: 10th October 1954
  • Presented by: Directorate of Film Festivals