Current Affairs PDF

62nd National Film Awards : An Overview

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The 62nd National Film Awards were announced at the National Media Centre, New Delhi. The awards were announced by the jury chairpersons directors Bharathiraja, Kamal Swaroop and Govind Kumar. The National Awards will be presented by President Pranab Mukherjee on 3rd of May in Vigyan Bhawan (New Delhi).


Complete list of winners:

  • Best Hindi Film: Queen
  • Best Bengali Film: Nirbashito
  • Best Tamil Film: Kuttram Kadithal
  • Best Marathi Film: Killa
  • Best Kannada Film: Harivu
  • Best Konkani Film: Nachom – IA Kumpasar
  • Best Malayalam Film: Ain
  • Best Assamese Film: Othello
  • Best Odiya Film: Aadim Vichar
  • Best Punjabi Film: Punjab 1984
  • Best Telugu Film: Chandamama Kathalu
  • Best Rabha Film: Orong
  • Best Haryanvi Film: Pagdi The Honour
  • Best Music Direction:
  • a) Songs – Haider (Hindi)
  • b) Background Score – Nineteen Eighty Three (Malayalam)
  • Best Choreography: Bismil for Haider
  • Special Mention Ain (Malayalam)
  • Nachom – IA Kumpasar (Konkani)
  • Killa (Marathi)
  • Bhootnath Returns (Hindi)
  • Best Educational Film: Komal & Behind the Glass Wall
  • Best Exploration/Adventure: Film Life Force – India’s Western Ghats
  • Best Investigative Film: Phum Shang
  • Best Animation Film: Sound of Joy
  • Best Short Fiction Film: Mitraa
  • Best Film Critic: Tanul Thakur
  • Best Writing on Cinema : Silent Cinema: (1895-1930)- Pasupuleti
  • Purnachandra Rao
  • Best Writing on Cinema : G. Dhananjayan for Pride of Tamil Cinema
  • (Special Mention)
  • Best Costume Designer: Dolly Ahluwalia for Haider
  • Best Female Playback Singer Uttara Unnikrishanan for song Azhagu in Saivam (Tamil)
  • Best Male Playback Singer Sukhwinder Singh for song Bismil from Haider
  • Best Actress Kangana Ranaut for Queen
  • Best Supporting Actress: Baljinder Kaur for Pagdi The Honour (Haryanavi)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Bobby Simhaa for Jigarthanda (Tamil)
  • Best Actor: Vijay for Nanu Avanalla Avalu (Kannada)
  • Best Direction: Srijit Mukherji for Chotushkone (Bengali)
  • Best Film On Environment Conservation/ Preservation: Ottaal (Malayalam)
  • Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Mary Kom
  • Indira Gandhi Award For Best Debut Film Of A Director: Asha Jaoar Majhe (Bengali)
  • Best Feature Film: Court (Marathi, Hindi, Gujarati & English)

Knowledge is Wealth

  • The National Film Awards were presented since 1954
  • It is the highest award given for Films in India.
  • The Awards are presented in two main categories. 1) Feature Films. 2) Non-Feature Films.
  • Every year, the Government of India appoints a national panel, which selects the winning entry.
  • The award ceremony is held in New Delhi and the awards will be presented by President of India.