Current Affairs PDF

51st International Emmy® Awards: India’s Vir Das wins Emmy for Comedy & Ektaa Kapoor wins Directorate Award

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

List of winners at International Emmy Awards 2023On 20th November 2023, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the winners of the 51st International Emmy® Awards (2023) in New York City, United States of America(USA).

  •  Indian Comedian and actor Vir Das won the Emmy under the Comedy category for his Netflix stand-up special show “Vir Das: Landing”.
  • Ektaa R. Kapoor, Co-Founder of Balaji Telefilms was honoured with the International Emmy Directorate Award for her contribution to the world of arts and entertainment.

Note: A total of 15 Emmy and 2 Special Awards ( Founders Award & Directorate Award) were presented during the event.


Vir Das:

i.Vir Das shared the Emmy for Comedy with “Derry Girls – Season 3”, a United Kingdom(UK) origin web series produced by Hat Trick Productions.

  •  With this, he became the first Indian Comedian to win the Emmy Award.

ii.This marks Vir Das’s maiden International Emmy Award and the 2nd  Emmy nomination including his nomination in 2021 for the stand-up show “Vir Das: For India”.

Ektaa R Kapoor: 

i.She received the award from Author and new age leader Dr Deepak Chopra.

ii.She became the first Indian Woman Filmmaker to win the Directorate Award.

  • Previously, Subhash Chandra, the founder of Zee Group, received the Directorate Award(2011) for his contribution to India’s television industry.

Directorate Award: 

The Directorate Award, one of the two special awards of the International Emmy Awards, is presented to an organisation or an individuals for outstanding contributions over a period of time to the arts and sciences of international television.

Other Indian nominees: 

i.Shefali Shah was nominated under the Best Performance by an Actress category for her performance in the Netflix series, ‘Delhi Crime Season 2.’

  • She lost the award to Mexican actress Karla Souza for the Mexican sports drama Dive.

ii.Jim Sarbh was nominated under the Best Performance by an Actor category for the series ‘Rocket Boys’.

  • He lost the award to English actor Martin Freeman for his performance in The Responder.

Special Awards: Founders Award:

British Screenwriter and producer Jesse Armstrong, Chairman and CEO of HBO and Max Content was honoured with the 2023 International Emmy Founders Award.

  • He is the creator of the television drama ‘Succession’ and the co-creator of the Channel 4 comedy series Peep Show, Fresh Meat, and Babylon.

Winners of International Emmy Awards 2023:

Arts ProgrammingBuffy Sainte-Marie: Carry It On(Canada)
Best Performance by an ActorMartin Freeman In The Responder(United Kingdom)
Best Performance by an ActressKarla Souza In La Caída [Dive](Mexico)
ComedyVir Das: Landing(India)
Derry Girls – Season 3
2023(United Kingdom)
DocumentaryMariupol: The People’s Story(United Kingdom)
Drama SeriesThe Empress(Germany)
Non-Scripted EntertainmentA Ponte – The Bridge Brasil(Brazil)
Short-Form SeriesDes Gens Bien Ordinaires [A Very Ordinary World](France)
Sports DocumentaryHarley & Katya(Australia)
TelenovelaYargi [Family Secrets](Turkey)
TV Movie/Mini-SeriesLa Caída [Dive](Mexico)
International Emmy Kids Awards
AnimationThe Smeds and The Smoos, Magic Light Pictures (United Kingdom)
Factual & EntertainmentBuilt To Survive (Australia)
Live-ActionHeartbreak High (Australia)
International Emmy News Awards
Current AffairsOff The Grid – Ukraine Wartime Diaries
NewsThe Battle For Bucha & Irpin

About International Emmy Awards:

i.The International Emmy Awards, annually presented by the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, recognise excellence in television programming produced outside of the USA.

ii.For the 2023 International Emmy Awards, 56 Nominations were listed for 14 categories from 20 countries.

About International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences:
President & Chief Executive Officer(CEO)– Bruce Paisner
Established in –1969
Headquarters– New York City, United States of America