Current Affairs PDF

21st Annual Conference of International Society of Addiction Medicine (ISAM) held in New Delhi

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

A 4-day long organised 21st (XXI) annual conference of the International Society of Addiction Medicine(ISAM) was held in New Delhi from November 13-16, 2019. Union Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment, Shri Thaawarchand Gehlot addressed the event. The conference was about drug addiction and its prevention for the citizens in the country.

Theme: The theme for 2019 conference was “Addiction in a Rapidly Changing World“.21st Annual Conference of International Society of Addiction MedicineKey Points:

i.The Ministry for Social Justice & Empowerment is the nodal agency for reducing the activities related to substance use disorder. It commissioned a national level survey conducted by AIIMS regarding substance use activities. The report was released in February 2019 and showed that large no of people was in need of help for their addiction.

ii.Events held: Delegated from more than 30 countries participated in the event. The event comprised of 40 lectures, 80 symposia and workshops on various aspects of disorders.

iii.Organisers and supporters: 

  • The conference was organised by the Department of Psychiatry & National Drug Dependence Treatment Centre (NDDTC), All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi in collaboration with the World Psychiatric Association(WPA), the World Association of Social Psychiatry (WASP), the Indian Psychiatric Society(IPS) and the Indian Association for Social Psychiatry.
  • The conference was supported by the Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment (MoSJ&E), Ministry of Health & Family Welfare (MoH&FW) and the Department of Revenue(DoR), Ministry of Finance(MoF).

About International Society of Addiction Medicine(ISAM):
Fact- ISAM is an international collaboration of physicians working in the field of addictive disorders. It works in delivering high- quality patient-centred care all over the world.
Formed- 1999.
President and chair-  Dr.Kathleen Brady.