Current Affairs PDF

2022 Sportstar Aces Awards: Neeraj Chopra & Mirabai Chanu honoured with ‘Sportstar of the Year award

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

Sportstar Aces 2022 Neeraj Chopra wins Sportsman of the Year awardIndian Olympian Neeraj Chopra, who won the gold medal (Javelin) at Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics was awarded the Sportstar of the Year (Male) award at the 2022 Sportstar Aces Awards held at the Taj Mahal Hotel in Mumbai, Maharashtra. 

  • Neeraj Chopra has also won the Sportsman Of The Year (Track And Field)

Mirabai Chanu who won the silver medal(Weightlifting), at Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics was honoured with the Sportstar of the Year (Female) award at the event. 

  • Mirabai Chanu along with Lovlina Borgohain, who won the bronze medal(Boxing) at the Tokyo 2020, has been awarded Sportswoman Of The Year (Individual Sports). 

About Sportstar Aces Awards: 

i.Sportstar Aces Awards celebrate the spirit of excellence in sport and hopes to inspire the athletes and sportspersons to continue to strive to break new records and reach new pinnacles of glory. 

ii.The Associate Partner of 2022 awards were Byju’s Classes and IDFC First Bank. 

Other Awardees:



National Team Of The YearIndian Men’s Hockey Team
Young Athlete Of The Year (Female)Esha Singh(amateur shooter)
Young Athlete Of The Year (Male)Nihal Sarin(chess)
Parathlete Of The Year (Male)Sumit Antil(paralympian- javelin)
Parathlete Of The Year (Female)Avani Lekhara(Paralympian- Shooting)
Sportsman Of The Year (Cricket)Ravichandran Ashwin
Sportswoman Of The Year (Cricket)Mithali Raj
Sportsman Of The Year (Team Sports)Rupinder Pal Singh(hockey)/Harmanpreet Singh(hockey)
Sportswoman Of The Year (Team Sports)Savita Punia(hockey)
Sportsman Of The Year (Individual Sports)Ravi Dahiya(Wrestling)
Sportswoman Of The Year (Racquet Sports)PV Sindhu(badminton)
Sportsman Of The Year (Racquet Sports)Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/ Chirag Shetty
Special Recognition AwardPramod Bhagat(Para-badminton), Arif Mohammad Khan(Alpine skier)
Sportswoman Of The Year (Track And Field)Kamalpreet Kaur(discus throw)
Coach Of The YearVijay Sharma(weightlifting)
Lifetime Achievement AwardAjit Pal Singh(hockey)

  • Club Of The Year – Mumbai City FC;
  • Moment of the year – Men’s hockey bridging the gap with its golden past;
  • Best University For The Promotion Of Sports – Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology;
  • Best PSU For Promotion Of Sports – Indian Oil Corporation Ltd;
  • Best Corporate For Promotion Of Sports – JSW Group;
  • Best State For The Promotion Of Sports – Haryana;
  • Breakthrough Performance Of The Year – Indian Women’s Hockey Team;
  • Best Grassroots Coach/ Talent Mentor – Uday Pawar;
  • Sports For Social Good (Chairperson’s Choice) – Reliance Foundation;

Click here for the complete list of 30 categories

Jury panel:

i.Legendary India cricketer Sunil Gavaskar headed the jury panel of the award. 

ii.The other member of the jury includes Former India hockey captain M.M. Somaya, chess stalwart Viswanathan Anand, former India football captain Bhaichung Bhutia and Olympians Anjali Bhagwat and Aparna Popat. 

Sportstar & The Hindu group released coffee-table book, ‘Road to 1000’

During the 2022 Sportstar Aces Awards ceremony, the Sportstar and The Hindu released the 520-page coffee table book ‘Road to 1000’, a special collection with 1000 pictures to commemorate Indian cricket’s journey. 

  • The book was released by former India cricketers Sunil Gavaskar, Syed Kirmani, Dilip Vengsarkar, Mohammad Azharuddin, Chandrakant Pandit and Nilesh Kulkarni.

Recent Related News:

The Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports announced the recipients of the National Sports Awards 2021. President of India, Ram Nath Kovind, will felicitate the awardees during the award ceremony which will be held at the Darbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan on 13th November 2021. 

The recipients of the National Sports Awards 2021 were recommended by the Selection Committee of the National Sports Awards 2021.