Current Affairs PDF

2022 EE British Academy Film Awards: Will Smith won Best Actor for King Richard; The Power Of The Dog won Best Film

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

BAFTA 2022 Will Smith bags Best Actor awardThe winners of the 75th edition of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts(BAFTA)’s annual film awards – 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards(BAFA) were announced on 13th March 2022 at the Royal Albert Hall in London, the United Kingdom(UK). 

  • The award ceremony was broadcasted on the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) in the UK and across the globe. 
  • The award ceremony was hosted by Australian actress, Rebel Wilson.


i.American Actor Will Smith won the BAFTA under the Leading Actor category for his role in King Richard, an American biographical sports drama film, directed by Reinaldo Marcus Green. 

ii.British actress Joanna Scanlan won the BAFTA’s Leading Actress award for the film After Love directed by Aleem Khan. 

iii.The Power Of The Dog, a New Zealand-led Western psychological drama film, written and directed by Jane Campion has won 2 awards, Best Film and Best Director. 

iv.Sci-fi movie Dune directed by Denis Villenueve has won 5 BAFTA awards in the categories namely Original Score, Cinematography, Production Design, Sound, and Special Visual Effects. 

v.Apple Original Films ‘CODA’ written and directed by Siân Heder has won 2 BAFTA’s under Adapted Screenplay and Supporting Actor category. 

Winners of 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards:

Category Winnner 
Best FilmThe Power Of The Dog
Outstanding British FilmBelfast 
Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or ProducerThe Harder They Fall 
Film Not In The English LanguageDrive My Car 
DocumentarySummer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
Animated FilmEncanto 
DirectorJane Campion for The Power Of The Dog
Original ScreenplayPaul Thomas Anderson for Licorice Pizza 
Adapted ScreenplaySiân Heder for CODA  
Leading ActressJoanna Scanlan for After Love
Leading ActorWill Smith for King Richard
Supporting ActressAriana Debose for West Side Story
Supporting ActorTroy Kotsur for CODA 
Original ScoreHans Zimmer for Dune 
CastingCindy Tolan for West Side Story 
CinematographyGreig Fraser for Dune 
EditingTom Cross, Elliot Graham for No Time To Die 
Production DesignPatrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos for Dune 
Costume DesignJenny Beavan for Cruella 
Make Up & HairLinda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh for The Eyes Of Tammy Faye 
SoundMac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett for Dune 
Special Visual EffectsBrian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer for Dune 
British Short Animation Do Not Feed The Pigeons By Vladimir Krasilnikov, Jordi Morera, Antonin Niclass
British Short FilmThe Black Cop By Cherish Oteka
EE Rising Star AwardLashana Lynch

Recent Related News: 

On February 20, 2022, the winners of Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival (DPIFF) Awards 2022, India’s only independent international film festival, were declared
in Mumbai, Maharashtra.The award was presented by Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival (DPIFF) in memory of Dadasaheb Phalke ‘Father of Indian Cinema’.

About the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA):

BAFTA is a world-leading, Britain’s oldest independent art charity.
Incepted in 1947
President– HRH Prince William, The Duke of Cambridge
Headquarters– London, The United Kingdom(UK)