Current Affairs PDF

2019 Sahitya Akademi Awards in 23 languages announced

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On December 18, 2019 the Sahitya Akademi announced its annual Sahitya Akademi Awards in 23 languages for the year 2019. 7 books of poetry, 4 novel, 6 short stories, 3 essays and one in each of non-fiction, autobiography and biography won the awards.awardSahitya Akademi awards 2019:

  • Award Recommendation: The awards were recommended by the jury members representing 23 Indian languages under the Chairmanship of Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar, President of SahityaAkademi.
  • Award Announcement: Usually Sahitya Akademi Award for 24 languages will be awarded. This time 23 languages were announced. Nepali (24th language) will be announced later.
  • Awarding Ceremony: The authors will be presented with the awards at a special function to be held on 25 February 2020 in New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi.
  • The Awards relate to books first published during the five years immediately preceding the year of Award (i.e. between 1 January 2013 and 31 December 2017).
  • Award Features: The Award is given in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and an amount of Rs. 1,00,000/- towards cash content.

Important winners:

  • Shashi Tharoor wins for english book: Indian politician, writer and Congress party member Shashi Tharoor won the Sahitya Akademi Award. The Member of Parliament(MP) of Lok Sabha from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, tharoor won the award for his book “An Era of Darkness: The British Empire in India”. The book was 1st published in 2016.
  • Dharman wins for tamil Novel sool:  Cho. Dharman from Thoothukudi, TamilNadu has won the Sahitya Akademi award for his tamil Novel Sool. The novel was published by “Adayalam publications”. It is also to be noted that his previous novel “Koogai” has been translated by the Oxford University, England.
  • Nand Kishore wins for Hindi poetry: Renowned poet Nandkishore Acharya of Hindi has been announced the Sahitya Akademi award for his collection of poems ‘Peelte Apne Ko’.

Jury Members:
The Jury members of each language is given in


Sl. No Title and genre Author Language
1 Chanakya (Novel) Joysree Goswami Mahanta Assamese
2 Ghumer Darja Thele (Essays) Chinmoy Guha Bengali
3 Akhai Athumniphrai (Poetry) Phukan Ch. Basumatary Bodo
4 Bandralta Darpan (Essays) Om Sharma Jandriar Dogri
5 An Era of Darkness (Non-Fiction) Shashi Tharoor English
6 Mojma Revu Re (Essays) Ratilal Borisagar Gujarati
7 Chheelate Hue Apne Ko (Poetry) Nand Kishore Acharya Hindi
8 Kudi Esaru (Autobiography) Vijaya Kannada
9 Akh Yaad Akh Qayamat (Short Stories) Abdul Ahad Hajini Kashmiri
10 The Words (Poetry) Nilba A. Khandekar Konkani
11 Jingik Oriaon Karait (Poetry) Kumar Manish Arvind Maithili
12 Achan Piranna Veedu (Poetry) V. Madhusoodanan Nair Malayalam
13 Ei Amadi Adungeigi Eethat (Novel) L. Birmangol Singh (Beryl Thanga) Manipuri
14 Kadachit Ajoonahi (Poetry) Anuradha Patil Marathi
15 Bhaswati (Short Stories) Tarun Kanti Mishra Odia
16 Antheen (Short Stories) Kirpal Kazak Punjabi
17 Bareek Baat (Short Stories) Ramsawroop Kisan Rajasthani
18 Prajnachakshusham (Poetry) Penna Madhusudan Sanskrit
19 Sisirjali (Short Stories) Kali Charan Hembram Santali
20 Jeejal (Short Stories) Ishwar Moorjani Sindhi
21 Sool (Novel) Cho. Dharman Tamil
22 Septabhoomi (Novel) Bandi Narayana Swamy Telugu
23 Sawaneh-E-Sir Syed: Ek Bazdeed (Biography) Shafey Kidwai Urdu

About Sahitya Akademi Awards:
Fact1- The Sahitya Academy Award is a literary award in India, which the Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters, annually confers on writers of the most outstanding books of literary merit in the 24 mentioned languages.
Fact2- The copper plaque awarded by the Sahitya Akademi was designed by the Indian film-maker Satyajit Ray.
Established- 1954.