Current Affairs PDF

2015 FIH Awards – Netherland made Big Win

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

International Hockey Federation (FIH) has named Netherland players Robert Van der Horst in Men’s category and Lidewij Welten in women’s category as the 2015 Players of the Year.

  • Since 1998, FIH Player of the Year Awards are awarded annually to the male and female field hockey players to recognize their performances in the events, that are held in the corresponding year, as best in the world.
  • The winners of 2015 FIH Hockey Stars were decided by combining the results from online votes and a peer vote from international athletes.

FIH Awards - Netherland made big winHere is the list of Winners

Player of the Year (Men)Robert Van der HorstNetherland
Player of the Year (Women)Lidewij WeltenNetherland
Rising Star of the Year award (Men)Chrisopher RuhrGermany
Rising Star of the Year award (Women)Lily OwsleyGreat Britain
Goalkeeper of the Year award (Men)David HarteIreland
Goalkeeper of the Year award (Women)Joyce SombroekNetherland

About Federation Internationale de Hockey
Commonly known as the FIH or International Hockey Federation is the international governing body of field hockey and indoor field hockey. FIH is responsible for field hockey’s major international tournaments viz. World Cup.

  • President – Leandro Negre
  • Motto – FairPlay Friendship Forever
  • Headquarters – Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Membership – 128 national associations