Current Affairs PDF

2015 Costa Novel Prize conferred on Kate Atkinson’s “A God in Ruins”

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

British writer Kate Atkinson has won the Costa novel award for the second time in three years for “A God in Ruins”. It is the companion novel to “Life After Life”.

  • With this award, she became the first author to receive Costa prize for three timesGod in Ruins in 2016, Life After Life in 2013 and Behind the Scenes at the Museum in 1995.

2015 Costa Novel Prize conferred on Kate Atkinson’s “A God in Ruins”Here is the list of Costa Book Awards 2015

Costa First Novel AwardAndrew Michael HurleyThe Loney
Costa Novel AwardKate AtkinsonA God in Ruins
Costa Poetry AwardDon Paterson40 Sonnets
Costa Children Book AwardFrances HardingeThe Lie Tree
Costa Biography AwardAndrea WulfThe Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt, The Lost Hero of Science

About Kate Atkinson
1951 born British writer Kate Atkinson won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year in 1995 with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum.

  • Her four bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories.
  • In 2013, her novel, Life After Life won 2013 Costa Novel Award and South Bank Sky Arts Literature Prize and was also voted Book of the Year for both the UK and the US Booksellers Associations.
  • In 2011, she was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List and was voted Waterstones UK Author of the Year at the 2013 Specsavers National Book Awards.

About Costa Book Awards
The Costa Book Awards is a UK’s literary prize which recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors hailed in UK and Ireland.

  • Launched in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books in 5 categories.