Current Affairs PDF

1st National Indian Arts Awards presented in UK

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

The first ever National Indian Arts Awards has been established by the UK’s Indian arts development trust Milapfest to recognise the dedication of arts professionals working in the field of Indian arts and to celebrate the hard work and passion of young artists.

  • The award ceremony was held at The Nehru Centre, London.
  • The awards were presented by Indian High Commissioner to the UK Ranjan Mathai.
  • Award supporters – Arts Council England

First National Indian Awards in UKHere are the names of winners:

Winner of Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr M N Nandakumara (Executive Director of the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, London)

Winner of Sangeet Acharya Ratna Award (Teacher of the Year- Music)
Sivasakthi Sivanesan (Resident Carnatic Music Teacher)

Winner of Nritya Acharya Ratna (Teacher of the Dance)
Pushkala Gopal

Winner of Yuva Ratna Award – Young Musician of the Year
Yarlinie Thanabalasingham

Winner of Yuva Ratna Award – Young Dancer of the Year
Parbati Chaudhury

Tarang Musician of the year
Jasdeep Singh Degun

Samyo Musician of the Year
Sanjuran Keerthikumar

About Dr Nandakumara
Dr Nandakumara has taught Sanskrit at the Bhavan whilst taking his PhD in devotional literature at the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London. He commenced full-time work at the Bhavan in 1984 and took the helm as Executive Director in 1996.

About Sivasakthi Sivanesan
Sivasakthi Sivanesan has been teaching carnatic vocal and Vina at the Bhavan. An outstanding performer in her own right, she passes on the knowledge of centuries of music through teaching in the traditional guru-shishya way.