Current Affairs PDF

19 New Ministers inducted in the expansion of the council of Ministers – A Consummate List

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

For the second time the Narendra Modi lead NDA government expanded its council of ministers by inducting 19 new Minister of State (MOS) in order to exercise the various schemes and services promised through the Union Budget 2016.

  • Honorable President Pranab Mukherjee administered the new ministers’ oath of office and cabinetsecrecy at Rashtrapathi Bhavan on July 5th
  • Among these 19 all are new faces. 17 members are from BJP party and one each from RPI & Apna dal party.
  • Apart from this, Prakash Javdekar, Honorable Minister of State foresty, environment and climate change (independent charge) has been escalated from MOS into Cabinet rank.
  • According to the Article 75, the number of Council of Ministers should not exceed 82. But after this ministerial expansion the number of union ministers surpassed to 83 breaking the constitutional sealing limits.


  • Prakash Javadekar Promoted to HRD Minister, Replaces Smriti Irani
  • Smriti Irani – Textiles
  • Arun Jaitley loses Information & Broadcasting retains Finance Ministry, Corporate Affairs
  • Sadananda Gowda – Statistics and Programme implementation
  • SS Ahluwalia Appointed MoS Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Parliamentary Affairs
  • Vijay Goel – MoS Youth Affairs, Sports
  • Ramdas Athawale – Social Justice and Empowerment Ministry
  • M J Akbar Congress MP to MoS External Affairs
  • Ananth Kumar – Parliamentary Affairs Minister
  • Venkaiah Naidu – I&B Minister
  • Ravi Shankar Prasad – Law Minister
  • Anil Madhav Dave – Environment Minister
  • Babul Supriyo – Urban Development Minister
  • Krishna Raj an MP from Shahjahanpur. With her, the number of women in PM Modi’s cabinet is seven
  • 5 – Ministers, Nihal Chand, Ram Shankar Katheria, Sanwar Lal Jat, Manuskhbhai D Vasva and M K Kundariya – dropped from PM Narendra Modi’s council of Ministers.

The entire list of the newly appointed ministers is listed below:-

1Mr. Ajay TamtaUttarakhandAlmora
2Mr. Anil Madhav DaveMadhya PradeshRajya Shaba MP
3Mr. Arjun Ram MeghwalRajasthanBikaner
4Mr. Chottu Ram ChaudryRajasthanNagaur
5Dr. Subhash BhamreMaharashtraDhule
6Mr. Faggan Singh KulasteMadhya PradeshMandla
7Mr. Jasvantsinh Sumanbhai BhabhorGujaratDahod
8Mrs. Krishna RajUttar PradeshShajahanpur
9Mr. Mahendra nath pandeyUttar PradeshChanduali
10Mr. Manshuk L MMandaviyaGujaratRajya Shaba
11Mr. MJ AkbarMadhya PradeshRajya Shaba
12Mr. PP ChoudharyRajasthanPali
13Mr. Parshottam RupalaGujaratBJP’s Vice President
14Mr. Rajen GohainAssamNowgong
15Mr. RC JigajinagiKarnatakaBijapur
16Mr. SS AhluwaliaWest BengalDarjeeling
17Mr. Vijay GoelRajasthanRajya Shaba
18Mr. Ramdas AthawaleMaharashtraLeader of RPI Party
19Mrs. Anupriya PatelUttar PradeshLeader of Apna Dal