Current Affairs PDF

13th edition of ESPNcricinfo Awards 2019: England’s Eoin Morgan named captain of the year 

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

On February 10, 2020  ESPNcricinfo (sports news website) announced the 13th edition of the Annual ESPNcricinfo Awards 2019. The awards were presented under 12 categories & selected by a jury comprising former cricketers, ESPNcricinfo senior editors, writers & global correspondents.Key Points:

i.Captain of the year award: Eoin Joseph Gerard Morgan was named as the ‘captain of the year’ for leading England to win the World Cup Title against New Zealand.

ii.Ben Stokes was awarded the ‘ODI (One Day International) batting performance of the year’.

iii.The jury was comprised of former cricketers such as Ian Chappell, Ajit Agarkar, Daniel Vettori, Mark Butcher, Michael Hussey, Daryll Cullinan, Russel Arnold, Shahriar Nafees, Isa Guha, Snehal Pradhan and Peter Borren, and ESPNcricinfo’s senior editors, writers, and global correspondents.

Winner List:


CategoryWinners Country 
Test batting performance of the yearKusal PereraSri Lanka
Test bowling performance of the yearKemar RoachWest Indies
ODI batting performance of the yearBen StokesEngland
ODI bowling performance of the yearMatt HenryNew Zealand
T20I batting performance of the yearGleen MaxwellAustralia
T20I bowling performance of the yearLasith MalingaSri Lanka
Captain of the yearEoin MorganEngland
Debutant of the yearJofra ArcherEngland
Women’s batting performance of the yearMeg LanningAustralia
Women’s bowling performance of the yearEllyse PerryAustralia
Associate batting performance of the yearGeorge MunseyScotland
Associate bowling performance of the yearBilal KhanOman


About ESPNcricinfo:
The ESPNcricinfo awards recognize the best individual batting and bowling performances in cricket over the year.
Founded- 15 March 1993.