Current Affairs PDF

12th Counter Terrorism Dialogue between India and the European Union held virtually

AffairsCloud YouTube Channel - Click Here

AffairsCloud APP Click Here

12th India-European Union Counter Terrorism Dialogue held virtuallyOn November 19, 2020, The 12th Counter Terrorism Dialogue was held virtually between India and the European Union (EU). The Dialogue was co-chaired by Mr Mahaveer Singhvi, Joint Secretary for Counter Terrorism, Ministry of External Affairs of India and Ms Joanneke Balfoort, Director for Security Policy, European External Action Service.

During the meeting both sides accepted to support each other in their fight against terrorism.They exchanged views on counter-terrorism challenges, countering radicalisation and violent extremism, combating the financing of terrorism, and tackling terrorist use of Internet and agreed to work on these challenges.

Key Points:

i.Both EU & India discussed Sanctions of terrorist groups & Individuals as a tool to combat terrorism.

ii.The participants referred to on-going negotiations on a working arrangement between Europol and the Indian Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) to support Indian and EU law enforcement authorities to prevent, combat organised crime and terrorism.

iii.They discussed about cooperation in multilateral forums such as Financial Action Task Force, Global Counter Terrorism Forum and United Nations High-level Counter-terrorism Week 2021 and upcoming review of UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy.

iv.India condemned the recent terror attacks in the member states of EU and EU condemned the Terrorist attacks in India including 26/11 Mumbai, Pathankot and Pulwama.

Recent Related News:

i.The European Investment Bank (EIB) will invest 650 million euro (€) in the construction of Kanpur’s (Uttar Pradesh) 1st city metro line.

About European Union (EU):

27 Members – Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain & Sweden.

The United Kingdom withdrew from the European Union on 31 January 2020.
European Parliament president – David-Maria Sassoli (Italy)
Headquarters– Brussels, Belgium