MoES launches India’s 1st Manned Ocean Mission ‘Samudrayan’ at Chennai

Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh launches India’s First and Unique Manned Ocean Mission Samudrayan at ChennaiOn 29th October 2021, Dr Jitendra Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge) – Ministry of Earth Science, launched India’s 1st Manned Ocean Mission ‘Samudrayan’ from the National Institute of Ocean Technology (NIOT) in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

  • With this launch, India joins the Unique set of countries in the World (like USA, Russia, Japan, France & China) to have an underwater vehicle to carry out subsea missions.
  • MATSYA 6000, the manned submersible developed under India’s Deep Sea Mission, is currently developed with support from DRDO, ISRO & IIT Madras.

Note – In 2020, China touched the ocean depth of 11,000m using its manned submersible named ‘Fendouzhe’.

Deep Sea Exploration:

i.Deep sea missions will open a way for analysing the potential non-living resources like polymetallic manganese nodules, hydro-thermal sulphides present in the ocean at a depth of 1000 to 5500 meters.

ii.India to start shallow water trails (upto 500 meters) of the manned submersible by the last quarter of 2022.

iii. MATSYA 6000, that has the capability to reach upto 6000 m depth, will start the sea trails by the second quarter of 2024.

  • MATSYA 6000, which was indigenously developed by NIOT, is designed to carry 3 persons using the 2.1 meter diameter Titanium Alloy Personnel Sphere.
  • It can operate up to 12 hours & provide emergency support up to 96 hours.

Recent Related News:

The Central Government approved Rs. 4077 crore for a period of 5 years, to MoES for its ‘Deep Ocean Mission’ for promoting Blue economy initiatives.

About Ministry of Earth Science (MoES):

MoES was established in February 2006, from the Department of Ocean Development (DoD) as the Ministry of Ocean Development

Organisations Under MoES:

  • Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM) – Pune, Maharashtra
  • National Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasting (NCMRWF) – Noida, Uttar Pradesh
  • National Institute of Ocean Technology (NIOT) – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  • National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research (NCPOR) – Vasco da Gama, Goa

Exit mobile version